Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Poker without Cards

poker

A Confidence Game

I have made numerous attempts to write a review of Poker Without Cards and have come to the conclusion that it is a task much harder than I first anticipated. I will, however, make another attempt in the hope that this will do it justice as I feel that anyone who reads it will benefit greatly! But please don’t take my word for it!

A Joseph Matheny (Is he real?) has written the intro to Poker Without Cards and is of a different opinion to quote the final line of the introduction: “Since you have gotten this far I suppose you are going to read the transcript. Far be it from me to try and stop you.”

I failed to follow his advice and did read it. In fact, I have so far read it 4 times and always found it difficult to let go of it. Have I been infected?

The first time I read it I was somewhat bewildered and baffled at what this particular transcript was all about and yet I found it difficult not to carry on!

The format of Poker Without Cards is a transcript of the recording of a conversation beteween a Dr William Fink and a Howard Campbell, which takes place during 7 sessions in which Dr Fink is trying to understand what led his patient, Richard Wilson (Bucky) to be admitted to his mental hospital!

Well, that is the very basic of it and is really nothing more than the sceleton. It is the content of the conversation that takes you on what I can only describe as a “Mind Journey” and if you manage to read the whole book without giving in to the urge of googling certain stuff then you have done far better than me, who failed that part miserably. To take that a step further, I have compiled a reading list based on the stuff referenced in Poker Without Cards (Call me insane!)………..

If you want the paperback version you can get it HERE

If you want the PDF version you can get it HERE (right click and “save as”)

14 responses to “Poker without Cards

  1. apparelshop online May 17, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    Inspiring content, keep every one wake on what the ultimate purpose we all was born: to get happiness in many possible ways.

  2. Dr. Lionel Shmoo May 17, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Blair Warren turned me onto POKER WITHOUT CARDS… phenomenally worthy read. Blair Warren wrote the most powerful sentence for social engineering I have yet read: “People will follow you anywhere to the extent you encourage their dreams, justify their failures, allay their fears, confirm their suspicions and help them throw rocks at their enemies.” If these kinds of concepts scare you… then you shouldn’t read PWC above because iT is not for the feint of mind. Be relieved, the mind that wrote PWC is working with bright and creative people to bring good energy… http://GoodEnergy.Me

  3. viv66 May 17, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    I’ve downloaded it but now I’m a bit scared of what it actually is; maybe I am faint of mind…

  4. psychscribe May 20, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    I didn’t download it because I feel like viv feels….

    • J May 20, 2009 at 10:10 pm

      Hi Psych,

      I fully respect that and I think it’s good to go with what you feel is right.

      I have no desire to force anything upon anyone nor do I have the power to!

      Love

      J

  5. viv66 May 20, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    I’ve been reassured it’s OK, but it’ll have to wait now till I get a host of other things done!!!

  6. viv66 May 22, 2009 at 7:03 am

    Hahahaha.
    I’m tired after a really good week, which is better than being tired after a bad week.
    Cambridge was good. We went to Framlingham yesterday and then Southwold and that’s it for this group, who have restored my faith in a) the French and b) my ability as a guide and courier.

  7. H C August 7, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    I love this book. iT blew my mind, thank you for sharing.

    • J August 7, 2009 at 11:57 pm

      Hi HC,
      Thanks for your visit and you comment.
      I love the book too and every time I read it I learn something new. “iT” continues to blow my mind.
      My initial thought when I saw the letters “HC” was; Howard Campbell!! I read an interview with Ben Mack where he encouraged people to blog under that name. I did contemplate that, but think you may have beaten me to it! If you do have a blog, please let me know.

      Best wishes

      J

  8. Ben Mack August 31, 2009 at 1:34 am

    Grateful for your kind considerations.

    Much gratitude,

    Ben

  9. J August 31, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    My “kind considerations” would not have happened had you not written “Poker without Cards”, which leaves me the one being grateful.

    Thank you.

    With gratitude

    Jesper

  10. Anonymous November 1, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    This is the most underrated book ever!

  11. J November 1, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    I couldn’t agree more

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

