Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

College Student’s Letter to Parents

My mind seems very busy at the moment and I want to get some of these thoughts down on paper. I fear, however, that should I do it here it would turn in to one big bowl of word salad. My journal may just be the better place for it, at least until I can make some sense of these thoughts.

In the meantime, I bought a new book today and in it was a letter from a college student to her parents, which did make me laugh. I have read it somewhere before a while back but forgot about it.

Mind Salad

Dear Mum & Dad,

Since I left for college I have been remiss in writing and I am sorry for my thoughtlessness in not having written before. I will bring you up to date now, but before you read on, please sit down. You are not to read any further unless you are sitting down, okay?

Well, then, I am getting along pretty well now. The skull fracture and the concussion I got when I jumped out the window of my dormitory when it caught fire shortly after my arrival here is pretty well healed now. I only spent two weeks in the hospital and now I can see almost normally and only get those sick headaches once a day. Fortunately, the fire in the dormitory, and my jump, was witnessed by an attendant at the gas station near the dorm, and he was the one who called the Fire Department and the Ambulance. He also visited me in the hospital and since I had nowhere to live because of the burnt out dormitory, he was kind enough to invite me to share his apartment with him. It’s really a basement room, but it’s kind of cute. He is a very kind boy and we have fallen deeply in love and are planning to get married. We haven’t got the exact date yet, but it will be before my pregnancy begins to show.

Yes Mum & Dad, I am pregnant. I know how much you are looking forward to being grandparents and I know you will welcome the baby and give it the same love and devotion and tender care you gave me when I was a child. The reason for the delay in our marriage is that my boyfriend has a minor infection which prevents us from passing our pre-marital blood tests and I carelessly caught it from him.

Now that I have brought you up to date, I want to tell you that there was no dormitory fire, I did not have concussion or skull fracture, I was not in hospital, I am not pregnant, I am not engaged, I am not infected and there is no boyfriend. However, I am getting a “D” in American History, and an “F” in Chemistry and I want you to see those marks in their proper perspective.

Your loving daughter

Sharon

Sharon may be failing Chemistry, but she gets an “A” in Psychology.

13 responses to “College Student’s Letter to Parents

  1. DD September 9, 2009 at 7:07 am

    errmmm… is this real story or a joke ?? anyway, i find it pretty funny…..

  2. Tracy September 9, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Perspective really is everything!

  3. enreal September 9, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    This is great… thanks for the laugh

  4. tobeme September 10, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    It is funny! All a matter of managing perspective.

  5. viv66 September 11, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    I thought of this the other day when trying threee numbers to get through to a boss; every one I got just the answer service. I was on the brink of leaving a message along the lines of “one of the students has been struck by a car; what should I do?” when someone finally rang me back and I got the issue sorted. It is one thing for no one to be available to take an ordinary call and another for no one to take a true emergency call. I do hope I never have to make one of those!

  6. Mr. Twenty Twenty November 4, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Wow!

    I LOVE the story, and REALLY LOVE the punchline!

    It’s all about the POWER of perspective – and the set up!

    Whooo yah!

    Love it!

    Mr. Twenty Twenty

    That guy who really did change his name to the number of perfect vision – because we need more visionaries in the world! Including YOU! Whoo yah!

  7. J November 4, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    I love this story too and I agree that the punchline really puts it all into perspective.
    I had an eye test not long ago and I have 20/20 vision! Am I a visionary? Not too sure at this point and there can’t be 2 MR. Twenty Twenty’s!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

