Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

My Journey

Let me start this blog by telling you a little bit about my journey so far.

Up until about 4 years ago, I lived my life completely oblivious to “The Law of Attraction” and the fact that I have the power to control the direction of my life. When I think back to my life then, it was very good. I experienced love, joy and happiness but also frustration, anger, envy and unhappiness. The usual mix of feelings similar to what most people experience in everyday life.

Then all of a sudden the whole thing collapsed. It started with my girlfriend deciding that she was no longer happy in the relationship and that she wanted to create new experiences for herself.


That came as a shock to me as at that point we’d been together for 9 years and it had become the only life I knew.
Although it took me a long time to realise, it was a much needed wake up call because I had completely lost touch with who I was and even before the break up I was struggling with low self esteem and a constant need for approval and reassurance from her, which in itself can put a strain on any relationship.

Anyway, that was the starting point of my journey although it took me nearly a year of living in unhappiness to actually begin the journey.

I don’t remember the exact details of how I got started, but what I remember is that I was searching the Internet for ways to find happiness and I ended up downloading a series of ebooks by a Dr. Robert Anthony and at that time it was exactly what I was looking for. I guess what most people would want to know at this point, is what results or changes I got from reading those books!
In truth, I didn’t really see any results but looking back, the concept of these books opened my eyes and made me search for more.
It has taken me nearly 4 years to find myself again and to love and respect who I am unconditionally.
And that alone has been the turning point for me.
Back then my focus was purely on money (the lack of) and every book I read, every audio program I followed was only to find a way out of the severe financial difficulties I was faced with then, but I realise now that my focus was on the lack of money and not the feeling of abundance.
I felt massive amounts of frustration and anger because none of the stuff I learned seemed to work. I spent a lot of money (that I didn’t have) on various courses, seminars and “get rich quick” schemes which didn’t make any real difference, although I did learn something from every one of them.
When I shifted my focus to learning how to love myself and respect myself, things began to change for the better and they continue to improve pretty much every day now.
I know that I haven’t explained exactly how I came to this point and what I did and to be frank I think it would be a mistake to do so simply because my journey was my own and we are all unique. However, I hope that in sharing my experience, maybe someone may just end up getting something from it. If not, then at least i’ll get a way of getting stuff out of my head.


Best wishes

J

4 responses to “My Journey

  1. mysoul February 5, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    Wow, that was clear and concise.. Came here through Enreal’s. I would like to ask – Its been three years since, How do you feel now? do you feel more in alignment with your self, not needing another to approve or does that pop its ugly head every now and then? you could email me if you dont want to answer here. πŸ™‚

  2. J February 7, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Thank you for the question.
    I feel very different to when I wrote this first entry. I do feel more in alignment with myself but the need for approval still rears its ugly head from time to time.
    I also feel that I am more aware of my thoughts and that what I wanted when I first wrote this has changed.
    The journey continues πŸ™‚

  3. enreal February 9, 2010 at 4:05 am

    J… what can I say? First I must comment on the energy of this piece… it truly is what I expected. honest, determined and beautifully lost with a strong willingness to be found… that is the wonder of life and the mystery behind how people fail… in a perfect way. the way you envisioned this has a strong foundation… and as it seems our journeys and paths always, always seem to wander further off our vision… it is this beautiful journey in which you have touched so many… we are blessed…

    btw. I love this piece in case you didn’t get that from my comment πŸ˜‰

  4. J February 9, 2010 at 7:35 am

    My dearest enreal, I did get it from your comment and I am very grateful. I still cringe a bit when I read the post but accept that this was an important part of my journey. I have also realised the importance of recording parts of my journey and the decision to share some of these on here. I am blessed, humbled, privileged and extremely lucky to have met people on my journey. People like you enreal, your kindness and your wonderful words.

    I thank you from the bottom of my heart..

Leave a Reply

