Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Writing a Journal

What is the point of writing a journal?

For many many years that was my default response whenever someone mentioned the word journal or diary. I saw it as a chore to be avoided at all cost and not to mention the “valuable” TV watching time I’d had to sacrifice to do it!!!

Now! I am not here to pass judgment on how much TV you watch or whether you subscribe to my old view on writing a journal. I want to give you an insight to how much the simple act of writing a journal has improved both my confidence and my outlook on life and so much more.

It did take some effort on my part, initially, and the first couple of entries felt forced and I didn’t know what to write.
I also noticed that I was writing as if someone was going to read it, which I didn’t like because it wasn’t the true me coming out.

It wasn’t until I changed the format that the whole experience became automatic and my mind took over control of the pen without having to force it.

I think the main block for me was that as soon as I wrote “Dear diary” my mind would draw a blank, so I decided that instead of doing it that way I would pretend that I was writing letters to a friend and that changed it instantly. It’s now 6 months later I am still doing it and cannot imagine my life without it. I spend some of my favourite time writing letters to my “Friend” and it has helped me bring tremendous clarity to my life and has helped me find my path in life. I sincerely hope it will do the same for you. Should you decide to give it a go!

2 responses to “Writing a Journal

  1. real estate for sale in costa blanca spain February 18, 2013 at 6:24 am

    I precisely wished to thank you so much yet again. I am not sure what I could possibly
    have handled without these points

    discussed by you relating to

    such a subject. It previously was the fearsome

    problem in my circumstances, however , considering the very specialized avenue you resolved the issue

    forced me to cry over contentment. Now i am thankful for

    the help as well as sincerely hope

    you realize what a

    great job that you are carrying out training people today
    with

    the aid of your web blog. Probably you haven’t come across all of

    us.

  2. Audrey April 27, 2013 at 10:22 pm

    Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was
    doing some research on that. And he

    actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that:

    Thanks for lunch!

Leave a Reply

