Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Gratitude

drops.jpg

It’s a cold and rainy Sunday and I am thoroughly enjoying it!

Actually I really like when it’s raining and I love the sound of the rain on my window. Somehow it makes it more comfy inside

Anyway, I want to talk about gratitude.

As I am spending so much of my time reaching for a better life and for more things, I sometimes forget how far I have come already and just how much abundance I experience every day.

When I say abundance, I don’t just mean financial abundance, although for a long time I associated the word abundance only with having a lot of money but I have come to realise that there is more to it than that.

I don’t exactly know why, how or when we get conditioned to focus on what we don’t have instead of being thankful for what we have. There is nothing wrong with wanting more, in fact, it is good to keep reaching for a better life and more abundance of love, wealth, happiness and whatever else you want to add to that.

I did get to the point where I was focusing so much on what I wanted that I lost touch with all the good things in my life and where I guess I just took that for granted and not being grateful for what I already have. I think that the one thing I learned from reading “The Secret” (I haven’t actually seen the movie yet) was practising gratitude (when I remember to!!!)

There is so much to be grateful for, even if you haven’t realised any of your desires yet. My point is this; if you are able to read this, you are inside your home, you have electricity, running water, heating and of course access to the web! That in itself is something to be grateful for.

I don’t know where in the world you are located, but in the UK we have a lot of homeless people and looking out of the window, where it’s cold, dark and very wet, I am extremely grateful to be sitting in my flat, feeling warm, and have the ability to sit and write this.

In addition to that, I have a wonderful family and the most wonderful friends. I have a job that I enjoy (well! most of the time!). I am in good health and I don’t have to walk 3 miles to get water.

I still want a lot more and there is nothing wrong with that, but I think this is a reminder to myself to be grateful for all that I have and give thanks for all the good things in my life.

I will leave you with “A Note From The Universe”

Best wishes

J

A main “Criteria of Consciousness” for the human experience, is never having all you want. For as one dream comes true, another swiftly takes its place. Not having all you want is one of life’s constants.

And learning to be happy while not yet having all you want (which, as you can see, is constant), is the first “Criteria of Joy.” Nail it, and for the rest of your life people will be asking what it is about you.

Desire, is a beautiful thing.

One response to “Gratitude

  1. fiftypushing June 2, 2008 at 2:42 am

    It’s a great talent to be able to appreciate what you have. I think it is a sign of maturity. I love these raindrops and I think the header for your blog is beautiful. Keep going with your search to be the best person you can through life. It’s the most any of us can strive for.

Leave a Reply

