Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Notes from the Universe

Be selfish for a moment and think of something material that you want… something fantastic, something awesome, something wonderful.

Now, double it. Whatever it is you want, think of owning two of them. They’re yours free and clear. Think of the implications their possession would have on your life. What would your neighbors say? Where would you keep them? What colors would you choose, what dimensions, what characteristics?

Okay, you’re about to receive a third one, more than you could possibly use (at the moment), so who would you give it to? How would you tell them? What would their reaction be? Would you be able to help them take ownership? Would you be there to facilitate the transition, if necessary? What would your friends and family say about your generosity? Would you do it again? If so, for whom?

This exercise has now concluded. Drop it from your thinking. Resume enjoying the here and now, because it’s the only place happiness resides, and every so often, as your mind wanders to thoughts of the above, smile with gratitude.

Choices, choices, choices,
The Universe

The Universe

I get notes like this one through on email every day and, if nothing else, it always puts a smile on my face even when there seems to be nothing to smile about.

Click here to get your own Notes from the Universe.

J

4 responses to “Notes from the Universe

  1. shiona January 16, 2009 at 10:41 am

    I have subscribed to the notes. 😉 I think this can be very stimulating sometimes.

    • J January 17, 2009 at 5:28 pm

      For me the notes are very stimulating and they never fail to put a smile on my face. I have kept all of them since I signed up for them in July 2007 and whenever I need to change my mood for the better I tend to read them.

  2. shiona February 4, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    I just wanted to say thank you for the Notes. I find it quite exciting to get a note every day of the week. Often they sound like someone was reading my mind, they are so appropriate for that particular moment. For example I was getting sick with worry yesterday and then this came to my e-mail account:

    “Worry and time have an inverse relationship. The more you have of one, the less you have of the other. Yet curiously, both are suspended when you live in the now.”

    Take care!

  3. J February 4, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    The Notes really are wonderful and I get excited about them too. Whenever i check my email it is usually the first one I look for and read.
    I love the simplicity of them and yet (like you said) they seem to know exactly how you feel at that moment, and more importantly what to say!

    All the best

    J

Leave a Reply

