Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Remembering to be Grateful

Today has been the type of day that tests your strength (or mine at least) and on reflection I would have liked to have dealt with it more positively!

Yesterday I discovered that I have a 30% chance of being made redundant from my job but I won’t know for sure for another few weeks. In the meantime I am expected to just carry on as normal, which prooved easier said than done today! I don’t know why I let myself get on a downward spiral. I can only put it down to convincing myself that yesterday’s announcement would be a perfect excuse for procrastination and that is exactly what I did! What I realise now, is that, the only achivement so far today is having created a double work load for tomorrow!!! At least I know I am the one responsible for that!

I can’t go back and start the day again so I might as well let go of the regrets and thoughts on what I could have done differently as well as the thoughts on what may happen in the next few weeks.. The day is not over yet and I have made the decision to finish the day on a positive note!

I read a wonderful blog entry a week ago and decided to go back and read it again and that inspired me to list down all the things I am grateful for;

I have a wonderful home where I can be myself.

I have the ability to write this blog, which helps me in so many ways.

I have the most caring and loving family who supports me in everything I do.

I have a job that I am good at and more importantly gives me the opportunity to help people.

I am grateful for every comment I receive on here – they mean so much more than you may think!

I am in good health

I am proud of what I have achieved.

I am getting better at loving myself.

I have the most wonderful friends and I am grateful for every moment I have with them.

I am grateful for the life I have (even when times are hard)

I am grateful for every opportunity to show kindness to a stranger.

I am grateful for the realisation that the outside world as I see it is a reflection of my inner world.

I have the ability to learn and grow whenever I choose to.

I am grateful for the feeling of contributing something, simply by writing this blog.

I can choose to be happy anytime I want to.

I love being kind and gentle.

I am grateful for everyone who chooses to share their thoughts and ideas on blogs. I have gained so much and I believe we can all learn from each other. I certainly have!

I am so grateful for “December lost in confusion” which inspired me to do this. (Thank you Shiona)

And finally I am grateful for writing this list. I can now end the day with a smile on my face.

J

5 responses to “Remembering to be Grateful

  1. Brynn January 17, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Hi J, found you site through linkreferral. We have a common passion, writing a blog to share our thoughts & beliefs. I’m busy reading a book, ‘Secrets of success’ and in it they mention honouring the moment. Finding out you might become redundant can so easily make you feel insignificant. I really like what you did to get out of your spiral. Might I suggest something else I have learnt? If you really enjoy what you are doing, keep doing it with passion, you will either stay where you are, or something better will eventually come to you, depends on what you really want.

  2. J January 17, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Hi Brynn,
    Thank you so much for your comment and I agree that the best way forward is to do my job with passion and be the best that I can be. I also firmly believe that should I end up not staying something better will come along as you say. and the interesting thing is that today I actually feel excited about a new beginning (Whatever that may be).

    Best wishes

    J

  3. Freeallcards January 18, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Not a lot of people know how to be grateful nowadays. This is something that I would love to pass on to my children in case I’ll have one.

    Be blessed always,
    Freeallcards
    http://www.freeallcards.com

  4. shiona January 20, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    It is indeed necessary to be grateful, at least from time to time. It helps you appreciate and cherish what is important in our lives but what we tend to overlook for all sorts of reasons. The greatest obstacle to being grateful, however, is self-pity. And self-pity is very difficult to overcome. Especially when you’re faced with insult, loss, betrayal… It is the fastest and easiest way to apathy and depression.

  5. lostsoul2009 January 26, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    It is so important to remember this… I need to make my own list and read it often, for I am in a dark place right now, where I can’t seem to find anything to be happy about in my life… but maybe I can find things to be thankful for. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

