Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

May be the nicest email ever!

I have literally just finished my previous post and the following came through on email from a dear friend of mine and posting it felt like the right thing to do.

I AM THANKFUL:

FOR THE WIFE
WHO SAYS IT’S HOT DOGS TONIGHT,
BECAUSE SHE IS HOME WITH ME,
AND NOT OUT WITH SOMEONE ELSE.

FOR THE HUSBAND
WHO IS ON THE SOFA
BEING A COUCH POTATO,
BECAUSE HE IS HOME WITH ME
AND NOT OUT AT THE BARS.

FOR THE TEENAGER
WHO IS COMPLAINING ABOUT DOING DISHES
BECAUSE IT MEANS SHE IS AT HOME,
NOT ON THE STREETS.

FOR THE TAXES I PAY
BECAUSE IT MEANS
I AM EMPLOYED .

FOR THE MESS TO CLEAN AFTER A PARTY
BECAUSE IT MEANS I HAVE
BEEN SURROUNDED BY FRIENDS.

FOR THE CLOTHES THAT FIT A LITTLE TOO SNUG
BECAUSE IT MEANS
I HAVE ENOUGH TO EAT.

FOR MY SHADOW THAT WATCHES ME WORK
BECAUSE IT MEANS
I AM OUT IN THE SUNSHINE

FOR A LAWN THAT NEEDS MOWING, WINDOWS THAT NEED CLEANING, AND GUTTERS THAT NEED FIXING
BECAUSE IT MEANS I HAVE A HOME .

FOR ALL THE COMPLAINING
I HEAR ABOUT THE GOVERNMENT
BECAUSE IT MEANS WE HAVE FREEDOM OF SPEECH.

FOR THE PARKING SPOT I FIND AT THE FAR END OF THE CAR PARK
BECAUSE IT MEANS I AM CAPABLE OF WALKING AND I HAVE BEEN BLESSED WITH TRANSPORTATION .

FOR MY HUGE HEATING BILL
BECAUSE IT MEANS
I AM WARM.

FOR THE LADY BEHIND ME IN CHURCH
WHO SINGS OFF KEY  BECAUSE IT MEANS
I CAN HEAR.

FOR THE PILE OF LAUNDRY AND IRONING
BECAUSE IT MEANS I HAVE CLOTHES TO WEAR.

FOR WEARINESS AND ACHING MUSCLES AT THE END OF THE DAY
BECAUSE IT MEANS I HAVE BEEN
CAPABLE OF WORKING HARD.

FOR THE ALARM THAT GOES OFF
IN THE EARLY MORNING HOURS
BECAUSE IT MEANS I AM ALIVE

AND FINALLY, FOR TOO MUCH E-MAILS
BECAUSE  IT MEANS I HAVE FRIENDS WHO ARE THINKING OF ME.

Live well, Laugh often, & Love with all of your heart!

7 responses to “May be the nicest email ever!

  1. shiona March 1, 2009 at 8:38 am

    Hi J,

    I have translated this email into my native language, Bulgarian, and, with your permission, I would like to send it to people I know. I do believe everyone needs to sit down and think for a while of all the things they have a good reason to be grateful for.

    Thank you for sharing these words with the readers of your blog.
    Be healthy and happy.
    Shiona

  2. J March 1, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Hi Shiona,

    You don’t need to ask for my permission.
    I agree that spending time remembering all the reasons one has to be grateful is important and actually it is usually the quickest way for me to change my perspective.

    Sending you thoughts of joy and happiness

    J

  3. Pingback: Liberation Day « Shiona’s Innermost World

  4. enreal March 5, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Heart warming… it is funny how we often forget the simplest of truths. The things so easily taken for granted, become the things we forsake and forget. Let us always remember… thanks for the reminder…

  5. J March 6, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Thank you enreal for your wonderful words.
    You are absolutely right it is heart warming, and every time I read it I get reminded of the things I so easily take for granted. Hopefully one of these days I will need less reminders.

    With gratitude

    J

  6. Mysoul May 6, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    I dont know how I missed reading this…Yes! Theres so much to be grateful for, if we just took the time to see what we have instead of what we dont.

  7. myidealamerica March 27, 2013 at 3:43 pm

    Reblogged this on myidealamerica and commented:
    Wish it was more natural to remember to do these things…It reminds me that we can always find people in worse situations than our own and to be grateful and content with where God has us at this present time. So many things to be thankful for…

Leave a Reply

