Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Everybody’s Fool

perfect by nature
icons of self indulgence
just what we all need
more lies about a world that

never was and never will be
have you no shame don’t you see me
you know you’ve got everybody fooled

look here she comes now
bow down and stare in wonder
oh how we love you
no flaws when you’re pretending
but now i know she

never was and never will be
you don’t know how you’ve betrayed me
and somehow you’ve got everybody fooled

without the mask where will you hide
can’t find yourself lost in your lie

i know the truth now
i know who you are
and i don’t love you anymore

it never was and never will be
you don’t know how you’ve betrayed me
and somehow you’ve got everybody fooled

it never was and never will be
you’re not real and you can’t save me
somehow now you’re everybody’s fool

4 responses to “Everybody’s Fool

  1. shiona March 2, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    One more page left before I finish my translation of a project for the reconstruction of the water supply system of a town in my country (boring!), but I lost my concentration and decided to say hello, listen to the song and charge myself with some energy.

    This song has a serious message which makes me think over my own masks and disguises.

    I love the song. I love the group, too. And the singer. She’s got gorgeous eyes, hasn’t she?

    Wishing you a lot of success in all your undertakings

    Shiona

  2. J March 2, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    That translation does sound like a bit of a mouthful and not the most exciting one either. I am happy you lost your concentration and decided to say hello.

    It does make me think too about all the different masks I often wear in different situations and why. I think that until I am fully comfortable with who I am they will remain in place to some extent.

    But then when I am writing on here or writing comments I feel no need for the masks. For the first time in my life I have a place where I am comfortable revealing the true me.

    The reason I posted the song was because I listen to it a lot at the moment and I absolutely love it. You are right she does have the most stunning eyes, and voice too.

    Hope you find the energy and concentration to finish your translation with enough time left over for yourself.

    With love

    J

  3. shiona March 2, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Hi again,

    I’ve finished it, in fact, and I’m back to your blog delighted to find your reply. 🙂 As well as very eager to pay some closer attention to your most recent post.

    I think I don’t wear a mask when I feel safe. And I definitely feel safe here with you.

    Thank you!

  4. J March 2, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    I am glad to hear that you have finished and even more delighted to find you back here.
    This is becoming my second home and you are always welcome.

    I feel privileged and honoured that you feel safe here and even more to have you in my life.

    Thank you

    J

Leave a Reply

