Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Emotional Clutter Part 2

If you haven’t already done so, it may make more sense if you take a minute to read the first part of  Emotional Clutter.

If you want your own copy you can get if free by clicking the picture below

Emotional Clutter

INSTRUCTIONS — Circle the number that comes closest to representing how true the statement is for you right now. Be honest with yourself. You must be ready for the process you are about to engage in to be able to receive the maximum benefit from the process discussed in this book.
Less True / More True Statement

  • 1 2 3 (4) 5 I have a high level of (circle all appropriate) (desire)/excitement/(urgency)/(pain) to make the necessary changes in my life and to actualize the outcome I seek.
  • 1 2 (3) 4 5 I realize to make the changes I want, I need to apply myself. I am ready right now to put the requisite focus, time and effort towards making the changes I seek.
  • 1 (2) 3 4 5 I believe that circumstances impact me, and that I’m not really responsible for my own behavior, actions and the conditions I am now experiencing.
  • 1 2 3 (4) 5 I am willing to do whatever is necessary (as long as it is legal and ethical) to break through limitations or obstacles that are in my way.
  • 1 2 3 4 (5) I am willing to “try on” new concepts or different ways of approaching things and to engage in this process fully.
  • (1) 2 3 4 5 I believe that just knowing WHY I do something will fix the problem. I won’t need to take any additional action.
  • 1 2 3 4 (5) I will be honest with myself about information that is pertinent to my situation and achieving my goals.
  • 1 2 3 (4) 5 I am committed to the process of transforming my life and feel comfortable making an investment in myself.
  • 1 2 3 4 (5) I am willing to trust that wise part of myself–my unconscious mind–that knows what is best for me, even if I don’t know where the answers it provides may lead.
  • 1 2 3 (4) 5 I can embrace a philosophy that says that I am responsible for my own life.
  • (1) 2 3 4 5 I am not willing to give up the stories that have defined me for so long, especially if they focus on negative things that have happened to me.
  • 1 2 (3) 4 5 If I am working with someone else to get rid of my emotional clutter, I will provide immediate feedback if I feel that I am not getting what I need to help me work toward my goal.
  • 1 2 3 (4) 5 I believe it is possible for me to get rid of my emotional clutter even if I’m not really sure how to do it.
  • 1 2 3 4 (5) I am willing to see this process through to completion.

(At the end of this, there is an explanation of the score of each statement)

The Four Questions to Ask to Know if You Are Ready to Change

(I am using the need for approval for this one, since it seemed to be the theme in part one)

1. What will happen if you let it go?
Imagine and consider all the possibilities, both good and bad.

  • I will be better at standing up for myself
  • I will be true to myself and my beliefs
  • I may lose some of my friends
  • I will be more assertive
  • I may lose the the desire to see the good in everyone I meet
  • The fear of making mistakes will vanish and so will procrastination
  • I will be better equipped to go for what I want
  • I will have more respect for myself
  • My confidence will improve
  • People may like me less
  • I may be perceived as arrogant
  • My feelings of anxiety will diminish or disappear
  • I will be able to be me

2. What will happen if you don’t let it go?
Again, imagine and consider all the possibilities—good and bad.

  • I will stay where I am
  • I will lose more self respect and self esteem
  • I will be perceived at being needy
  • I will go to greater lengths to get approval
  • I will end up spending the rest of my life alone
  • I will maintain the ability to see the good in any situation or argument.

3. What won’t happen if you let it go?
What will you miss?

Before I list down what came out I want to explain that this question took some effort and I had to take a break from it. For some reason I couldn’t really understand the question until I changed it to “What will you miss if you let go of your need for approval?” The initial answers still didn’t feel right so I have put in brackets what thoughts followed the answer

  • I will miss my ability to see the good point of any argument. (You will keep that ability)
  • I will miss people giving me compliments. (There is no logical reason why that will stop)
  • I will miss the motivation to do stuff like this. (You can choose to do stuff like this whenever you want in whatever area you want to grow)
  • I will miss the sympathy and attention I sometimes get. (Really??)
  • I will miss feeling safe in my comfort zone. (You can go back whenever you choose to)

4. What won’t happen if you don’t let it go?
Does having this problem “protect” you in some way?

  • I won’t have to risk people not liking me
  • I won’t have to worry about being rejected
  • I won’t have to step outside my comfort zone
  • I won’t have to show who I really am

This has really been an eyeopening exercise for me and I am beginning to wonder where part 3 might lead me, with a feeling of hope and excitement.


2 responses to “Emotional Clutter Part 2

  1. tobeme March 3, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    This is a great exercise which helps to create awareness and awaken us from our slumber, thanks for sharing.

  2. J March 3, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Thank you tobeme

    I really needed to be awakened from my slumber and it really was an eyeopener for me.

    Thank You

    J

Leave a Reply

