Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

A Lesson in Adversity

SunsetAnother wake up call came my way today in the shape of an empty bank account, which means that for the next 2 weeks I am having to live on the bare minimum.

This is, of course, not the first time that I have been in this situation and previously my reaction to this realisation would be one of adopting the attitude that this would now be my reality for the rest of my life, resulting in feeling despair for days and days after the event. And it wasn’t just around money either.

Whatever adversity I would be faced with, my instant reaction would be one of having no hope of improvement! Where did this come from? And why have I not been aware of it until now I wonder?!

My initial reaction today was a repetition of my usual reaction, but this time it was so brief and it was as if there was a voice telling me that “everything is fine as it is and will work out fine,  and that since there is nothing I can do at this moment to change this, worrying about the next 2 weeks will be a waste of energy”

I guess that having a very busy day at work was a good thing, but then again, in the past I would usually completely lose my focus as my mind would fill with images of doom and gloom and it would take a huge amount of effort to snap out of it.

I am extremely happy that I didn’t react in the usual way today and while I am curious to understand what caused this positive change in reaction, I think it is more important for me to remember today next time I am faced with a set back.

Today feels like a “strange” but positive turning point.

While the next 2 weeks may prove challenging, this is the first time I am at a belief that it is only a set back (with another lesson) and that it is only temporary.

I will leave you with these beautiful words that perfectly sums up how I feel. (Thank you Fibi)

“Everything is as it should be – if it was meant to be any different – it would be..”

15 responses to “A Lesson in Adversity

  1. viv66 May 9, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Trust that voice; I have one that speaks to me in a similar way, and I have yet to discover it to be wrong. It usually speaks in such a soft but firm tone that I cannot but take heed and the worries subside.
    It is rather like the phrase from Julian of Norwich: “All shall be well and all shall be well and all manner of things shall be well.” When things are tough for me, I have a small pendant with those words on that I wear; I can get you one too, if you’d like, next time I am in Norwich?

  2. J May 9, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    The voice has been there again today and the snippet of worry I had, never had a chance to grow. I have never experienced this before and I will take your advice and trust this voice. It’s the first one that has left me feeling reassured and safe.

    It is so incredibly sweet and thoughtful of you to offer to get me a pendant like yours and I would absolutely love one.

    Bless you

    J

  3. The blog father May 10, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    All I have to say is that I’ve been worrying myself to death lately. I’ve lost my job 10 weeks ago and finally I have mentally won the battle between religion and luck. If you have religion then there is no bad luck or good luck. If there is no bad luck or good luck , then there is no need to worry. Once I put that together mentally, and fully believed it……I stopped worrying. I don’t know how long “not worrying” will last but I will enjoy it while it does.

  4. J May 11, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Firstly, I am delighted to welcome you here and I really appreciate you taking the time to comment.

    I know all too well what it feels like to constantly worry about things that most of the time never become a reality.

    I really do not believe in the concept of good or bad luck anymore. When I did my worries always led me to believe that I was always unlucky – or maybe it was the other way around. I am pleased to hear that you have found a way of stopping your worrying.

    “I don’t know how long “not worrying” will last”
    I think that could be a slight worry in itself and even if thoughts and feelings of worry sneak back in at least you can look back on how you stopped these thoughts!

    Best wishes

    J

  5. vanessaleighsblog May 11, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Hey J:

    I am so glad to hear that this new perspective is something you are trying, and you are finding it effective! You are so right, that to worry on it until you get paid again doesn’t bring any funds with it, and just creates more misery for yourself. It may seem like the natural thing to do, to worry and fret over it. Yet, it doesn’t help the situation. When I have found myself in similar financial circumstances, I have come to embrace those moments as an opportunity to simplify my spending, and it has really helped me to put some different perspective on things that has helped me.

    I am glad that worrying is leaving you, and that you are letting it leave. Remember how good it feels and that will help you to continue to not let it into your life as much.

    Peace to you! Vanessa

    PS Fibi is certainly wise, isn’t she?

  6. J May 12, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Hey Vanessa,

    It wasn’t really a case of me wanting to try a new perspective at that particular point. It literally was a voice in my head telling me that I would be ok and so far it has been right. Since that day I have had money coming to me unexpectedly, which just proves to me once again that worrying is a waste of time.

    I always saw the moments of financial difficulties as nothing but doom and gloom until now. This time, like you, I embraced it as an opportunity to simplify my spending.

    It also made me realise that buying stuff to gain happiness is very shortlived and going for a walk in nature cost nothing but gives you an experience money can’t buy!

    You are right – Fibi is wise and I read that line every day now.

    Bless you

    J

  7. tobeme May 12, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    You have experienced a shift in consciousnesses, this is wonderful. As you said, everything is as it should be!

  8. J May 14, 2009 at 5:45 am

    It is rather wonderful!
    I have felt “lighter” than I can ever remember feeling before. For the first time I think I believe and trust that everything is as it should be!

  9. Molly May 14, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Hey, congratulations on embracing life, on allowing the lessons and wisdom to unfurl. I commend you.

    And I am happy to read how well you’re doing with all of these transitional times.

    Peace,

    Molly

    • J May 17, 2009 at 12:09 pm

      Thank you Molly

      I can’t quite explain what has caused me to “embrace” life and not focus on lack, but I guess that really isn’t the important part. I am still feeling good about everything and I am enjoying this feeling.

      Bless you

      J

  10. enreal May 15, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    To become aware is the greatest gift from life. After, all that follows is memories. Good Luck J

    • J May 17, 2009 at 12:13 pm

      It really does feel like I have received a gift and that I am in a much better feeling space.

      Thank you enreal

      Love

      J

  11. retiredeagle May 15, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Hi J. I noticed that you visited my site today and as a result, I was able to link here and discover your blog site. Good stuff. I can see that your process of individuation is moving forward. It s always good to note positive changes in attitude. I will be back. Thanks.

    • J May 17, 2009 at 12:32 pm

      Hi retiredeagle.

      I have had your link up here since my first visit because I wanted to come back and spend some time reading your blog.

      I do feel that I am moving forward but for the first time I am actually beginning to enjoy the journey!

  12. lostsoul2009 June 2, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    I love this quote. So true!

Leave a Reply

