Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Meetings

Call a meeting

11 responses to “Meetings

  1. viv66 May 19, 2009 at 9:44 am

    hahahahaha.
    Someone is bored at work I see!!!
    Sadly, all too true. Thankfully we very rarely get meetings; changes are just imposed top down with no discussion or chance to contribute. All we get is nights out invites via Facebook that I never want to go to!

  2. J May 19, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Just bored with meetings!!!!
    Changes are generally imposed top down like you but with a meeting thrown in which makes no difference to the changes anyway!

    • J May 20, 2009 at 10:24 pm

      Hee Hee is good! I am glad you liked it Molly.
      The reality, however, is different except of course for the one calling the meeting, which I suspect is for the reasons in the cartoon!!!!

  3. shiona May 20, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Jesus! This is so in line with my everyday routine! I’ve just come back from a meeting where I’ve been interpreting. Sometimes the strain is so huge for me, I feel like a crushed lemon, and these people are generating loads of meaningless statements. It’s unbelievable how they do it. Uttering mountains of words and saying nothing!

    • J May 20, 2009 at 10:16 pm

      “Uttering mountains of words and saying nothing!”

      That is exactly what meetings are all about!! I can’t remember ever being to a a meeting where I left with a feeling of having gained something!

      Good to have you back!

      Love

      J

  4. viv66 May 20, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    I spoke too soon; we’ve got a staff seminar in mid June it’s kind of hard to not go to…
    Because this is how it works, I got the letter after I replied.
    Hey ho!

    • J May 20, 2009 at 10:19 pm

      Oh Noooooo!!

      I have a “bingo game” specifically designed for these kind of meetings, which may put a more lively spin to it, although I am sure it won’t go down too well with the organisers and speakers.
      I can send you the rules of the game!!!!!!!

      Good luck in June!

      Love

      J

  5. viv66 May 21, 2009 at 6:41 am

    Is that by any chance Bullshit Bingo??
    A friend of mine who works at Church House in London (the admin wing of the Church of England) used to play her own version which was Lambeth Palace Library Bingo, so every time her boss mentioned said library she ticked off a box… they coulnd;t 20+ references…
    We’ve been accused lately of not taking the new rules seriously, so I suspect any overt levity will not be popular.
    There’s also allegedly drinkies at the pub after but since they always choose the nastiest pubs, I might pass on the chance of a free drink from the boss.
    Also, while I enjoy what I do, I really don’t enjoy the endless conversations about it, rehashing last season and anticpating next…

  6. J May 21, 2009 at 6:59 am

    Bullshit Bingo it is indeed!!!

    Like you I enjoy what I do and see no need to meet to talk about last year/season. It seems pointless to me, it’s gone with no ability to change it, so why talk about it. Just let it be and move on.
    I dread to think how much actually gets wasted in meetings for no purpose other than giving the people calling the meetings a chance to feed their own and eachother’s egos.
    Luckily, no meetings today!!!!!!!!

  7. viv66 May 21, 2009 at 10:07 am

    There’s sometimes fun to be had sharing our stories of last year, funny or otherwise but my feeling is with us it’s chewed over till it’s boring!! I don’t want to just talk TEFL, I want to get to know people properly!

Leave a Reply

