Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Allowing

This week has been a week of work and pretty much nothing else. I am fully aware that I am the one who made that choice and I am not after sympathy or any kind of pat on the back.

During the week I looked forward to today. A day off, a day to myself, a day of rest.

The question I have for myself at this point is why do I feel the need to do something after having constantly done something for the past 6 days. Would it not be better to just allow myself time to relax and recharge my batteries?

The answer of course is yes, but then the next question sets in: What do I do to relax and recharge??

Do I really have to do something? Can I instead just “be” and enjoy every moment of today. Tomorrow hasn’t happened yet and yesterday is gone. I only have right now and it is my choice what I do with my present!

4 responses to “Allowing

  1. shiona June 14, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    I have very often felt in a similar way. When I have finally found some time to relax, I end up feeling restless with a constant thought at the back of my mind that there is probably something important I have forgotten to do.

    I’ve read somewhere this is a typical symptom of stress. I can’t just ‘be’ and enjoy leisure. My solution to that is to find something pleasant to do but still keep me active. Thus I feel more satisfied with myself. I don’t know if this woks for you.

    Wishing you to truly enjoy the rest of your day to yourself no matter how you choose to spend it.

    Lots of love 😀

  2. viv66 June 14, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    It all depends on how you are able to relax. I find a very similar thing, that after a frantic week I cannot just stop and be still.
    I guess it’s like the way athletes have to have a cooling off as well as a warming up period as part of their routine.
    Enjoy the rest of the day.
    love,
    Viv

  3. retiredeagle June 21, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    The answer is “yes” you do have to do whatever it is you feel pulled to do. Sometimes that means “relaxing.” Each person charges their battery in different ways. For example, I recharge through introspective “Work.” My wife recharges through social interactions which drain my energies. Only you will know your answer. Now, perhaps there is some unconscious aspect at work that is looking for an out and you are resisting unconsciously. Truth is, no one looking from the outside can actually give you answers. Perhaps the answer isn’t even important.

  4. Molly June 23, 2009 at 1:31 am

    That it is! Fabulous insight!

Leave a Reply

