Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Hello

Playground school bell rings again,
Rain clouds come to play again,
Has no one told you she’s not breathing?
Hello, I’m your mind giving you someone to talk to,
Hello…

If I smile and don’t believe,
Soon I know I’ll wake from this dream,
Don’t try to fix me, I’m not broken,
Hello, I’m the lie, living for you so you can hide,
Don´t cry…

Suddenly I know I’m not sleeping,
Hello, I’m still here,
All that’s left of yesterday…

 

19 responses to “Hello

  1. viv66 June 28, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Melancholy song, that. reminds me of some Tori Amos but not as harsh as hers, softer voice and less vicious edge to the lyrics…

  2. J June 28, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Yeah Tori Amos does have an edge to her lyrics but I do really like her music.

  3. viv66 June 28, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    me too.
    I never got properly into The Beekeeper, which seems odd now.
    I sometimes use her music to write to. There’s something about it that works on my moods and thoughts.
    Do you like Tanita Tikaram?

    • J June 29, 2009 at 6:25 pm

      I am not too familiar with Tanita Tikaram but may jut have to look into her stuff.

      • viv66 June 29, 2009 at 7:08 pm

        The two early albums are better than her later one. She became very popular in eastern europe, I believe.
        mellow voice, interesting and oddly poetic lyrics and hummable tunes. I often feel strangel drunk when listening to her…

      • J June 29, 2009 at 7:08 pm

        Actually I stand corrected!! I thought the name rang a bell and then I searched on YouTube and I have completely forgotten how good she is!!! Thanks for the reminder both of you..

  4. shiona June 28, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    There we are once again. The song is totally in tune with my current mood.

    I like both Tori Amos and Tanita Tikaram. I often go to sleep with Twist in My Sobriety playing through the headphones. Repeatedly.

    • J June 29, 2009 at 7:11 pm

      Here we are again indeed!! I hope your day with the Chief Goblin went well and as I have written above, thank you for the reminder on Tanita Tikaram.

  5. viv66 June 28, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    wow, more synchronicity. I wrote one book almost entirely to Tori Amos and another to Tanita Tikaram.
    That said, I wrote one to Nigel Shaw’s Ancestors, which is probably not on anyone’s playlist but can be found at http://www.seventhwavemusic.co.uk
    I used to run to the first five tracks of Ancestors…

    • J June 29, 2009 at 7:21 pm

      I have spent a little time listening to Nigel Shaw and I really really like it. I always love being introduced to new music, especially the stuff that never gets any airtime on the radio as it always feels more honest and pure and this is no exception.

      • viv66 June 29, 2009 at 7:30 pm

        I’m often hopelessly unable to get to grips with anything new music wise; I really dislike almost everything that other people (read: people I work with) like and I rarely dive in and try new stuff. My brother was always one for trying to get me to like the stuff he liked and then being snide when I didn’t. I did buy a CD a while back that appealled to me; it was a cd of improvised baroque and early music, the songs all in Italian(which I don’t speak) but was playing in a music shop in Cambridge and made me feel like dancing, so that being a rare thing, i bought it. It cheers me up eevry time I play it.
        I was told today that if I didn’t like Michael Jackson, I could just get out of the staffroom…

        • J June 29, 2009 at 7:37 pm

          Feel free to come and join my staff room of music!! I generally don’t like all the commercial pop-manufactured stuff and i have been told on many occasions that I have a weird taste in music but that just makes me feel unique!!!

        • viv66 June 29, 2009 at 8:01 pm

          I got told today(and in the nicest possible way) that NOTHING about me was likely to be normal. Someone had asked how my eye was and I’d said it was back to normal….
          I decided to take it as a compliment because I think it was intended as such.

  6. J June 29, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    If I was being told that nothing about me was likely to be normal I would take this as a compliment!!! I am not too keen on what our society deems “normal”

  7. viv66 June 29, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Agreed.
    That said, I’ve felt very much today as if my brain is not working within accepted parameters(very Star Trek!) and I’m a little bit demented. Strange ideas and thoughts keep popping up. I’ve written two poems today, and it feels as though words are just hovering slightly off centre, stage left, if you like.
    I had the afternoon off so I did chores and lazed around but just couldn’t get on with anything deeper.

  8. viv66 June 30, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Just wondered if you like Michelle Shocked at all?
    One of her songs is something I’d rather like played at my funeral, though the list of things I’d like for that gets longer every year as I find new things.
    It’s a song called The Hard Way, and the lyrics pretty much sum up how my life has gone in certain ways. “Seems I do everything the hard way!”

  9. Molly June 30, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    Fabulous vid, J. Thanks for posting it. Love me some Tori Amos, too

  10. retiredeagle July 3, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    This is great news! Congratulations.

  11. J July 3, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Thank you Robert. It is great news indeed and I think I have been ready for a change for a while!

Leave a Reply

