Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

The King’s Road Block

I had the following story through on email today and felt compelled to post it.

The King's Road BlockThe King’s Road Block By: Author unknown.

In ancient times, a king had a boulder placed on a roadway. Then he hid himself and watched to see if anyone would remove the huge rock. Some of the king’s wealthiest merchants and courtiers came by and simply walked around it. Many loudly blamed the king for not keeping the roads clear, but none did anything about getting the big stone out of the way. Then a peasant came along carrying a load of vegetables. On approaching the boulder, the peasant laid down his burden and tried to move the stone to the side of the road. After much pushing and straining, he finally succeeded. As the peasant picked up his load of vegetables, he noticed a purse lying in the road where the boulder had been. The purse contained many gold coins and a note from the king indicating that the gold was for the person who removed the boulder from the roadway. The peasant learned what many others never understand: Every obstacle presents an opportunity to improve one’s condition once you make the effort.

I resigned from my job today and it wasn’t until I came home this evening and read this story again that I realised that for so long I have walked around the rock blaming “the king” in hope that the rock would somehow move without my involvement! Today I moved it myself and I feel such a sense of relief, which confirms I have made the right decision.

A new chapter is about to open on my journey and I am embracing it with open arms.

6 responses to “The King’s Road Block

  1. viv66 July 30, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    This reminds me of the challenge left for Theseus by his father in Mary renault’s The King Must Die. His father hid signs of Theseus’ royal birth under a rock that was too heavy for a normal man to remove. The character was not a big strong hero but a slim lad of about 18, but he managed to get his proofs of lineage by using his head and a lever instead of sheer brute force. His father figured that his son had to be either clever or strong or it would be pointless him ever gaining proof of his identity.
    I’m so pleased for you!

  2. shiona July 30, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    I enjoyed the story very much. It refers to my own situation too.

    May the new chapter you are about to open in your life bring you a lot of personal and professional satisfaction and progress.

    Love

  3. Brynn August 2, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Well done J. Making such a big change in ones life can be daunting. The fact that you feel so good about it means it really is the right thing for you. May your journey ahead be full of unexpected, pleasant suprises. Always remember the infinite possibilities available to us in life. I look forward to reading about your new adventure.
    Ps. Thanks for the kind words about my ‘About Me’ page.

  4. Robert G. Longpré August 2, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    You are so right, a new branch on the road has been taken. Again, you will explore new questions about self and meaning and purpose while becoming more aware of self in the process.

  5. J August 5, 2009 at 11:01 am

    Viv: I like this story and it has given me further food for thought. I realise that sometimes I may go about things the wrong way!!

    Shiona: Thank you, I really hope that this new chapter will bring more joy and happiness. I do realise that I am the one responsible for making this happen.

    Brynn: You are right, making the decision was daunting with doubt and other emotions thrown in. I feel I have made the right decision and do feel positive changes coming my way.

    Robert: Your comment got me thinking about why I accepted all this for so long. I somehow convinced myself that if I kept at it maybe there would be a pot of gold or approval at the end of the rainbow. Now I think I am ready to try the gentle and caring environment to work in. New lessons will be learnt!

  6. enreal September 9, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Great story… if only we could detach and realize the importance of taking initiative… great lesson taught here, and good luck by the way, I have been out of the loop for sometime now… hope all is working in your favor J

Leave a Reply

