Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

A Beautiful Soul

A Beautiful SoulI have just returned from a wonderful evening in the most wonderful company.

The occassion was the birthday of my best friend’s sister and it was purely a family gathering. Technically I am not part of the family, but his Mum always tells me I am part of the family, which is incredibly heart warming.

The reason why I decided to write instead of following my instinct and go to bed is because of another member of the “extended family” present this evening. I have met her once before a few years back and she made a very positive impression on me back then. Tonight she made an even bigger one.

This wonderful lady is 90 years of age, (you wouldn’t believe it if you met her!) and without a shadow of a doubt, she is the most life loving and positive person I have ever met in my entire life. I feel so incredibly privileged and lucky to have spent the evening in her company.

We went to a Thai restaurant, which would put the fear of god into most elderly people I have ever known, because it is something different. She was the exact opposite. She was thrilled with excitement at the prospect of trying a type of food she had never tried before and she enjoyed every mouthful of it. I sat next to her and we talked like we’d known each other for a lifetime. Every word was said with a smile on her face. Not just the smile one puts on to please, her eyes were smiling throughout. She was sparkling like a thousand stars.

Even more fascinating was how she showed a genuine interest in what everyone had to say as if the biggest secret was about to be revealed to her.

When she found out I live on my own she asked if I was lonely, to which I replied; “No, I quite enjoy my own company” and she smiled and said that if we enjoy our own company we will not feel lonely.

She told me stories of her grandson, who is a script writer and who has written a UK sitcom called “The Vicar of Dibley” with Richard Curtis, who wrote “Four Weddings and a Funeral”, “Love Actually” and various others. She was never boastful about it, just proud and genuinely in awe of people who could create and write like that.

I can honestly say that I have never met a more remarkable human being in my life and I have learned more from the 3 hours in her company tonight than I will ever learn from any book, course, seminar or coaching session.

If I can demonstrate that kind of attitude from now on, maybe I will get the chance to demonstrate it when I turn 90.

Dear P.

You completed my day and I am forever grateful. Your incredible and amazing attitude and outlook on life is, and always will be, an inspiration to me. Whenever I am faced with a challenge, by remembering our conversation, your stories and your smiling face, I will get through it.

Thank You

9 responses to “A Beautiful Soul

  1. viv66 August 8, 2009 at 6:42 am

    Fantastic.
    I must take you one day to meet my friend Daphne(Wol) because thought she’s a mere 82, she’s the same sort of lady through and through.
    I have something to aspire to!

  2. shiona August 8, 2009 at 9:56 am

    It is always inspiring to meet such people though there are few of them in the world, I would think.

  3. creatingyourlife August 9, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    I have realized that the greatest teachers on the subject of life are the elderly and children. The don’t even realizing they are teaching, but just by being themselves they inspire.

  4. J August 10, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    I agree, children and the elderly (with some exceptions) do have an amazing quality when it comes to the subject of life. I guess it’s up to us to be open to the lessons!!

  5. tobeme August 10, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    You were blessed to be in the company of such a grand teacher and we are blessed with her energy that you shared here today. Thank-you!

  6. J August 11, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    You are welcome Mark. I was blessed indeed and I am happy that you enjoyed “her energy”

  7. Love August 14, 2009 at 11:03 am

    May I have her phone number? Please! 🙂

Leave a Reply

