Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

A Different Path

A Different PathI was having a conversation with a friend last night and during the conversation she said something that gave me food for thought! It didn’t register until a little while later though. I don’t remember the exact words but the gist of the sentence was along the lines of “It’s as if I have to experience difficult situations at work, for me to feel that I have done something worthwhile”

It really struck a cord with me because I realized that for so long I have been thinking and doing exactly that!

For so long I somehow managed to land myself one difficult situation after another, each bringing a set of problems or challenges to overcome.

Why? So that I could go home at the end of each day with a sense of purpose and achievement. I never stopped to ask myself if there might be an easier way!

This is a strange piece of self realization, but for me it does explain why I stayed so long in my job despite the ever increasing frustrations and stress.

I somehow convinced myself that if I had an easier and less stressful job I would stop growing and learning!

I see now how silly this belief turned out to be and how, in fact, the stress and frustration tired me to the point of treading water in terms of growing and learning.

I had a comment on a different post a little while back, and Brynn, if you are reading this I think I would like to join your club of changing my belief system to “Everything is easy”!!

6 responses to “A Different Path

  1. viv66 August 13, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    This is very curious….
    I often tend to convince myself that the hardships and traumas of my life are what make me, me, and what give me fuel to write.
    I think there is undoubtedly a balance to be found between easy and hard.

    • J August 13, 2009 at 7:38 pm

      I have convinced myself for far too long that hardships and traumas would make me a better person. I do agree that it provides fuel for writing but at the same time I think I have learned enough of that side and want to experience a happier and more relaxed life now!

  2. viv66 August 13, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    definitely.
    I think I have enough material to use for a very very long time to come even without the last 18 months.
    I just want to spend about a week sleeping right now. I am profoundly tired and weirdly, rather depressed right now.

  3. J August 13, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I am here if you want to talk

  4. viv66 August 13, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    It’s getting a bit late now and I’m going to get to bed shortly. Ok, so it’s only 9.20 but even after a nap, I’m dead on me feet!
    heaven knows how I’d ever cope with a fulltime job!
    thanks, I may ring tomorrow though.

  5. Brynn August 16, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    The ‘Everything is easy’ belief takes some time to seep into our subconcious, especially if you are surrounded by people who disagree. And don’t be fooled , just because we believe everything is easy, doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be thourough. I got caught out by taking it a little too easy on a project.

Leave a Reply

