Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Symptom or Root Cause?

Looking for the Root CauseSince my last post I have been doing a lot of thinking and a lot of writing in my journal and have come to the realization that I can either try to forget and go back to sleep or I can carry on with my journey to find my true self and my true purpose.

Writing my journal also made me take an honest look at the demons I think I have to face! Demons I have hidden from myself in fear of facing them. I have known these demons for some time now but chose to bury my head in the sand in the hope that they would eventually disappear! My initial thought was to strap on a helmet and get ready for battle, but then I thought, what if these demons/problems are just symptoms of a deeper rooted problem. If this is the case I could be in battle for the rest of my life and never solve the real problem.

It seems that spending time in quiet contemplation has given me some further answers and as I was writing, memories came in and one in particular stroke a cord! A few years ago I had a couple of sessions with an aura soma therapist, which impressed me deeply. There was a 6 months gap between the first and second session, her being in Denmark and I in the UK with no contact in those 6 months. At the beginning of the second session she started off by pulling out a notepad while telling me that she had been thinking about me and had made some notes. The accuracy of her notes relating to my experiences in the preceding 6 months were astonishing. The thing that stuck with me more than anything were the words “What you are looking for is just beneath the surface” and those words reappeared in my journal with no conscious recollection of me writing them. Not sure how this journey is going to pan out but I suppose there is only one way to find out and if I fail, I can try a different approach with the knowledge that each failure carries a lesson.

3 responses to “Symptom or Root Cause?

  1. viv66 August 25, 2009 at 7:13 am

    Bon voyage, J!
    Going back to sleep is not an option when people like me are gonna give you a big poke in the ribs if you seem to be dozing off. I’m nasty like that!
    Seriously, great thoughts.

  2. J August 25, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Thanks Viv

    Maybe a big poke in the ribs is sometimes what I need and I am happy I can count on you for that!

  3. viv66 August 25, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    I’m especially good at the nudge-nudge wink-wink say no more squire style of poke too, which gets embarassing. I can also be sure to see(and point out) double entendres even when they’re very flimsy…

Leave a Reply

