Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Another Chance to Learn

I started my new job yesterday and as always the first day at a new place never seems easy. New people to meet and gradually get to know, new surroundings and , the one I tend to struggle with the most; being dependent on other people for a while. I know what I was going in for and I have no regrets, although yesterday, doubts kicked in on a big scale. The voice in my head kept trying to convince me that I have made a mistake and that my future is looking gloomy. My biggest mistake was to pay attention to the voice.

Today I have not had much time to think about it. I have 2 – 3 months of training to go through before they let me loose on clients on my own. Even though I have 9 years’ experience of doing the job it is a regulatory requirement that any new company can demonstrate to the regulator that I am fit to do the job. This means I have to learn their processes, policies and systems, which actually does not differ that much and will make the training process somewhat straight forward compared to someone starting from scratch, with little or no qualifications.

eye_in_mirrorThe most important training of all, however, is down to me and it involves some inner work and change in attitude towards situations I will no doubt encounter again and again until the lessons are learned. My qualifications will not aid me in this but honesty with self may just!

I know what the lessons are and I now have the gift of time to prepare myself for them.

Yesterday I was close to believing that I had made a mistake in resigning. Today I can see more clearly. I am ready to be a student again!

7 responses to “Another Chance to Learn

  1. viv66 September 2, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    I’m proud of you; I’d be sulking in a corner!!
    I’m also impressed that the process is so thorough; effectively making certain even experienced recruits are up to scratch!

    • J September 4, 2009 at 10:42 pm

      Thank you Viv and I am sure I’d find a way to get you out of the sulking corner!
      I sometimes get impatient with the whole training process but I really like this one and it never hurts to learn stuff again!!

  2. Love September 2, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    Hi,

    I wanted to send you this. Well, it was another one that I was looking for (also from Eckhart) but this is worth to see it as well, and made me laugh in this world of madness!

    Maybe you saw it already.

    Love.

  3. Love September 2, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Opps,

    I forgot to copy and paste the link :-).

    Here it is …

  4. tobeme September 3, 2009 at 2:22 am

    Yes, to be a student, to be a teacher and to know when to be each. You are on a great journey! Embrace it, don’t look back and say what if.

Leave a Reply

