Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

One small adjustment

Field ShootA few years ago a friend and I got into archery. His Mum has been doing archery for years and has been competing at the Paralympics too. Even more impressive, is her having the full set of medals from the Paralympics during the course of her career. Because of that she spends a lot of time training (she has a full time job as well) and my experience with archery started with being invited to a “fun shoot” around christmas. In all honesty I was somewhat apprehensive about the whole thing because I had never done archery before and was afraid of making a fool of myself. I did go and it was a lot of fun.

After the christmas shoot it slowly progressed to us going to his mum’s place of practice more often and I started to really get into the whole thing. His Mum uses a very high tech bow, very lightweight with sights and everything. We, on the other hand, used old fashioned longbows, which is basically a piece of wood and a string!!

It started off well and I was hitting targets (most of the time) until I started to hurt my elbow. Every time I let go of the arrow the string would hit my elbow despite my best efforts to get it out of the way. It is rather painful as with most of these bows you pull around 40 lbs, which hurt when it hits you! I eventually started to adapt to having a permanent bruise on my elbow and it did knock my confidence. Instead of focusing on the target I was preparing myself for the pain of letting go of the arrow!

We then got invited to go on a field shoot, which is a weekend of walking around a forest shooting at animals. No, not real animals but cardboard cut outs in the shape of different animals, which are placed in different positions and at different distances. It was a great new experience but at the same time I was still worried about the elbow issue until I met a guy who was very experienced in archery. He noticed the bruise on my elbow (One would have had to be partially blind not to notice it) and he commented on it. I told him that I couldn’t seem to find a way of avoiding it. He asked me to show him what I did and immediately spotted where I went wrong. He told me that instead of gripping the bow while drawing the string just to let it rest naturally in the palm of my hand. That was it! For the rest of the weekend I was able to finally shoot without hurting myself.

I don’t know why I thought of this today but it leaves me with another question to ponder. If all it took to eliminate a significant problem (at least for me) was one very small adjustment, then is it possible this same approach could be used in other areas of my life. Maybe I have a tendency to overcomplicate things when the solution may require nothing more than just little changes!

14 responses to “One small adjustment

  1. viv66 September 14, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Funny but I’m doing Robin Hood with my students tomorrow!
    I remember reading somewhere a story about a man who bought a suit that had faults and the tailor got him to twist and turn his body and so on to hide the little faults until he appeared totally deformed and distorted, all to hide a few basic tailoring flaws. Same sort of thing really but it takes an outside eye or view to see sometimes how we can adjust ourselves a little bit but make a big difference to our lives.
    thank you.

  2. Love September 14, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    “Maybe I have a tendency to overcomplicate things when the solution may require nothing more than just little changes!”

    Maybe I have this tendency as well (?).

    Maybe, but I´m not sure. Thank you for this post.

    Maybe I am scared or frightened of trying to change even if the situation becomes unbearable. Or maybe sometimes we cannot change?

    I´m not sure.

    I´m talking about leaving, but I have nowhere to go. I would be too vulnerable out there. I would be the perfect target for anybody to hurt me. Because I have no friends and no family. Should I remain where I am, then?

    Sometimes I want to kill myself.

    Sometimes, I think about leaving and I don´t mind what is going to happen to me. But then I think about my dog. He doesn´t need to suffer because of my noability to provide him a better Life.

    • J September 15, 2009 at 7:25 pm

      Change often leaves one frightened and scared, but with the right help and guidance one can find a way through unbearable situations and gradually start to heal wounds of the past.

  3. viv66 September 15, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Robin Hood went down very well with both morning and afternoon class!
    Ghost walk tonight; so be afraid…be very afraid!

  4. viv66 September 15, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    Location : here in Lowestoft.
    result: hilarity and near hysteria.
    I added to the whole thing by occasionally putting my vampire teeth in for a second or two, letting one or two students see and then hiding them. I now have some who are convinced(or so they tell me) that i am a vampire….
    off for a cuppa and try and unwind!

    • viv66 September 15, 2009 at 9:53 pm

      Oh and I nearly caused myself to be crushed to death by foolishly exclaming at one point that I could see red eyes in the woodland below….There was a surge of students that pinned me to the railings…my ribs hurt!
      The eyes were bicycle lights.
      I must write an account of the ghostly encounter with tomatoes….

      • J September 16, 2009 at 7:37 pm

        I wish I’d had a teacher like you, complete with vampire teeth and bicycle lights!!

        • viv66 September 17, 2009 at 2:07 pm

          ha ha!
          But I work them bloody hard in lessons too.
          That said, I did slang today and it included some hilariously rude phrases that I had to explain….which was interesting…

  5. shiona September 16, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    I was thinking about how important it is in most cases we encounter some difficulties to have a look from aside. It is often quite obvious for other people where we go wrong, while we ourselves keep repeating the same mistake without realizing it.

    • J September 16, 2009 at 7:39 pm

      Taking a step back and look at it from a different perspective is always a good thing. For me though, it always seems like such a difficult thing to do, which is why I often carry on making the same mistakes until someone is kind enough to show me a different way.

  6. Robert G. Longpré September 16, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    You are right, Jesper. All it takes is a small adjustment for almost all things in one’s life. One small adjustment shifts the whole. The same universe, but with a twist, a fractal universe. The journey of individuation is all about making these small adjustments, not on making earth-shattering life changes all at one go.

    • Love September 17, 2009 at 11:04 am

      That is what I have done so much: earth-shattering life changes because I was driven by my ego and I was reacting with despair, and hate, and resentment and so on.

    • J September 17, 2009 at 7:46 pm

      Thanks Robert
      It has taken me what seems like a lifetime for me to realise this. I always thought that in order to change it had to involve massive changes which always turned into an overwhelmingly impossible task.

Leave a Reply

