Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Asturias

The video below is one of my favourite pieces of music of all time and I have always had this dream of being able to play this on the guitar. The guitar has always been, and still is, my favourite musical instrument and the feeling I get when playing a piece of music or even just playing random notes or chords (what Frank Zappa would refer to as “Noodling”) is just wonderful.

Maybe one day I will be able to play this! So far I have come to grips with the first section (No! not at that speed and accuracy) but it’s no longer about getting to the point of playing it perfectly. It’s more about really enjoying the process of learning and enjoying playing the parts I have learned.

Written by Isaac Albeniz, played by John Williams

11 responses to “Asturias

  1. Love September 20, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    That was beautiful … Thanks

  2. viv66 September 21, 2009 at 8:12 am

    I learned something similar to the first section when I played guitar; obviously a watered down version of that piece. But I never got far with it; this was wonderful to hear as well as watch. A mix of classical-classical, Spanish and even some Moorish influences.

    • J September 21, 2009 at 7:06 pm

      It’s been one of my favourites ever since I was a kid. It wasn’t until a few years ago I found out what it was called. I am glad you like it and that your internet connection allowed you to listen and watch!

  3. shiona September 22, 2009 at 7:30 am

    I’ve heard this piece many times without knowing its title. Somehow I associate it with my youth when I used to listen to the radio a lot.
    You are right, it’s so powerful that it causes me to hold my breath and listen.

  4. enreal September 24, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    This is indeed very beautiful

  5. Robert G. Longpré September 25, 2009 at 3:56 am

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

