Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Look inside!

DSC00342A beggar had been sitting by the side of the road for over thirty years. One day a stranger walked by.
“Spare some change?” mumbled the beggar, mechanically holding out his old baseball cap.
“I have nothing to give you,” said the stranger. Then he asked: “What’s that you are sitting on?”
“Nothing,” replied the beggar.
“Just an old box. I have been sitting on it for as long as I can remember.”
“Ever looked inside?” asked the stranger.
“No,” said the beggar. “What’s the point? There’s nothing in there.”
“Have a look inside,” insisted the stranger.
The beggar managed to pry open the lid. With astonishment, disbelief, and elation, he saw that the box was filled with gold.

11 responses to “Look inside!

  1. enreal September 28, 2009 at 2:59 am

    Very important reminder, I needed this too. Thanks

  2. J September 28, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    You are welcome enreal. I dread to think how many years I have spent sitting on the box!!

  3. viv66 September 29, 2009 at 12:35 am

    Wah, someone stole my box!

  4. aulawi ahmad September 29, 2009 at 7:24 am

    If the contents of the box not gold?what the beggar said? 🙂

  5. J September 29, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Thieving B***ards!Maybe they won’t think to look inside!

  6. viv66 September 29, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    They’re in for a nasty shock if they do; I filled it with winged monkeys!

  7. Robert G. Longpré September 29, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    Gold – the stuff of the soul. Look inside for the greatest wealth. Inside is the self in relation to the SELF.

  8. Brynn September 30, 2009 at 11:47 am

    We are the box!!!!
    Hope you are enjoying ‘The Power of Now’. I read it some time ago. A great intro to ‘A New Earth’.

  9. Sathira October 6, 2009 at 10:53 am

    A great post!

    It is true that most of the time, our ” wonderful ” mind will mislead us to think that we can only seek happiness from external sources! We should manage our mind so that we are clear of our own definition of happiness and strive on heedfully to achieve it!

  10. J October 6, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Robert – It makes perfect sense and yet, at times, I still find myself sitting on the box looking elsewhere for the “wealth”

    Brynn – I have read it once, but need to take my time with it this time. I have yet to read “A New Earth”. How are you getting on with “A course in miracles?”

    Sathira – I can’t tale the credit for writing it, but wanted it to serve as a way of reminding me when I go back to the habit of seeking happiness from external sources.

  11. Brynn October 10, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    ‘A Course in Miracles’ is going slowly. It really is intense reading, hopefully when I get the the lessons section the text section will become clearer.
    Will keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

