Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Where do I go from here?

DSC00292

I have begun to realise that I often forget to give myself a break. Forget to give myself a chance to absorb things. Instead I strap on a helmet and trooper on in my search for answers with an incredible sense of urgency, which confirms that yet again I have forgotten the fact that there is no end result! Yet again, I have forgotten to focus on the journey itself!

Was it perhaps the constant sense of urgency that allowed me to be influenced into believing in the “Magic Pill” approach so often adopted by some of the “Gurus”? The only answer I can draw from this is yes, which begs a more important question: Why the sense of urgency? What was I looking for? What am I hoping the “Magic Pill” will resolve?

I am not going to attempt to answer these questions right now as I feel they need exploring further at a much slower pace.

Where do I go from here?

I think I will take a break from the whole self help arena for a while and put an end to the search for the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow and instead try to focus inwards.

Time to reflect on lessons learned/unlearned.

5 responses to “Where do I go from here?

  1. awie November 4, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    where i do go from here? hmmm nice question Sist…:) made us always remember about live….

  2. Brynn November 5, 2009 at 11:43 am

    You are the ‘magic pill’. We are all born knowing everything, and then the conditioning starts…
    Being a parent I have to be very careful what I ‘teach’ my boy, because he has ‘taught’ me so much already.

    Focusing inward is what all the ‘true’ self help guru’s teach. Only once you have started finding your true self and loving your true self can you start truly living the life you were meant to have.

    Working through ‘You can heal your life’ properly, not skipping anything, and only moving on to the next step once you feel you are ready is what I consider the best method.

    I too have started it, and never completed it, so it’s time to practice what I preach.

    I look forward to hearing about the break…

    • J November 5, 2009 at 1:48 pm

      Thanks Brynn,

      Focusing inwards for me, at least for the time being, means journalling without being influenced by outside material such as “You can heal your life”.
      I am not trying to suggest that this book and many others aren’t a valuable source of guidance, but for the moment I want to learn to listen more to my inner guide..

      I don’t know (at least not yet) what it is like to be a parent but I do agree that you do have to be very considerate and careful in what you teach Adam. I am also sure that, as you say, he has taught you a lot.

Leave a Reply

