Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Tourniquet

I tried to kill the pain
but only brought more
so much more
I lay dying
and I’m pouring crimson regret and betrayal
I’m dying, praying, bleeding and screaming
am I too lost to be saved
am I too lost?

my God my tourniquet
return to me salvation
my God my tourniquet
return to me salvation

do you remember me
lost for so long
will you be on the other side
or will you forget me
I’m dying, praying, bleeding and screaming
am I too lost to be saved
am I too lost?

my God my tourniquet
return to me salvation
my God my tourniquet
return to me salvation

I want to die!!!

my God my tourniquet
return to me salvation
my God my tourniquet
return to me salvation

my wounds cry for the grave
my soul cries for deliverance
will I be denied Christ
tourniquet
my suicide

6 responses to “Tourniquet

  1. shiona November 8, 2009 at 7:08 am

    Ever since my adolescence I’ve thought of suicide as the final and most reliable way out to save myself from the tortures of life. I mean, if life becomes unbearably cruel and I have nothing to live for.
    Psychiatrists are of the opinion that people who entertain such beliefs will not resort to suicide because in fact their confidence that this final option, no matter how grim, will always be available, any time, keeps them grappling.

    • J November 8, 2009 at 6:04 pm

      The understanding that a final way of saving myself from life should it ever become that unbearable was also what kept me looking for reasons not to exercise that option!
      x

  2. enreal November 8, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    This is a haunting song…. Her voice is incredibly beautiful. Her words are full of pain and passion…

    Apparently she wants God as her salvation, as she refers to Him as her tourniquet… perhaps, the lyrics have me confused by my feelings…

    Movings song

    • J November 8, 2009 at 6:15 pm

      I love the song and her voice is just stunning.
      I am not sure how to interpret the lyrics although suicide & forgiveness are strong elements. I read another interpretation somewhere else where the God was not a religious God but heroin where a tourniquet would be required, which would also put a whole new meaning to “return to me salvation”
      I’d be curious to hear the writer’s own interpretation!
      x

  3. Vanessa November 9, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    This is a phenomenal song…. I absolutely love the emotion that comes through in her voice so naturally.

Leave a Reply

