Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Merry Christmas

It amazes me how fast a year goes by and before I know it Christmas has once again taken me by surprise! Maybe one day I’ll learn to be more prepared for this time of year. Then again, maybe I won’t.

I realise that Christmas means different things for different people. For some it’s all about the presents, the size and cost of the present, perhaps a case of having to get an even bigger and better present than the year before. For some it’s a lonely time, for others it may be no different to any other day. For some it is a religious celebration and for some it’s quality time with loved ones.

For me Christmas is the one time of year I feel I can fully switch off from the distractions of everyday life (I realise as I am writing this that the reason for this is something for me to explore further). It is quality time spent in the company of family and friends in my favourite location.

I arrived here yesterday after what turned out to be a very strenouous journey. I will leave that story for another time as it will just send me ranting!!! Already I am enjoying the calm effect this place has on me. I can go for a walk on the beach and despite the fact that the temperatures are around -10°C it is highly enjoyable.

It is snowing as I am writing this which has put a smile on my face, the fire is lit and I have in front of me a glass of mulled wine. Dusk is fast approaching which just makes the light from the fire and candles stand out more. I am completely at ease and very calm and this is the feeling I always get whenever I come here. It’s as if this place has some magical powers that make problems and negative thoughts just disappear! Could it be magic? Or could it be, that I feel more at home here than anywhere else? The answer is not that important right now! I am just going to enjoy every moment from waking up in the morning lighting the fire to going to bed at night and everything in between.

I hope you’ll have the most wonderful Christmas.

With love and gratitude

J

10 responses to “Merry Christmas

  1. viv66 December 20, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    That just looks and sounds amazing!
    Enjoy every minute!
    xx
    viv

  2. shiona December 21, 2009 at 9:03 am

    To me Christmas is all about feeling warm and cosy in the company of loved ones.
    It’s also time to get in touch with myself, which I’m often unable to do in the hectic clutter of everyday life.

    Wishing you a lot of joy and all the wonders of Christmas!

    • J December 21, 2009 at 3:47 pm

      It is very warm and cosy here. I hope that you now get the time to focus on you and also recharge!

      Wishing you a magical and wonderful Christmas..

  3. Robert G. Longpré December 22, 2009 at 12:46 am

    Merry Christmas, J. You have chosen a great place to celebrate – the beach, the snow, nature, warmth and good wine. All the best for you and those with whom you will share this day and the days that follow.

  4. Brynn Thomas December 22, 2009 at 6:20 am

    Wow, what an amazing place to be. Imagine being able to feel like that all the time, now that’s life!
    Enjoy every moment of the holidays and I look forward to your next post.
    Merry Christmas

    • J December 30, 2009 at 11:19 am

      I can easily imagine being able to feel like that all the time. In fact, I would love to live in that place. There is something about it that really does have a very positive effect on me.

  5. Pingback: People Watching | Control Your Destiny

Leave a Reply

