Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Snow Chaos in the UK

During last week and some of this week snow hit the UK and caused the usual degree of chaos and disruption to every day life. A few snow flakes and the country is in meltdown!! People have been unable to get to work, unfortunately I was not one of them as I live very close to my place of work. (Hmm, maybe it’s time to think about moving!!)

The one thing that really baffles me is how a country is so incapable of dealing with these conditions when the rest of the world seems to cope with far greater quantities of snow than the UK. The only conclusion I can draw is the fact that the UK is generally unprepared for it, due to the fact that snow is a rare occurrence here. However, I think it may be worth learning from other countries as weather conditions are far more unpredictable than they used to be. I also suspect this could become more of a regular occurrence due to climate change and if this is the case, the UK could be in for a very steep and costly leaning curve.

From a positive point of view I find it rather amusing to watch the chaos unfold and even more interesting to watch how everybody seems to be a lot nicer to each other. Isn’t it odd how we seem to be more tolerant of each other whenever something beyond our control occurs. Is it because we are now all in the same boat, so to speak, that we find it easier to accept another person and find common ground.

Before Christmas when I was due to fly back to Denmark for the holiday, my flight got cancelled due to what they referred to as “severe” weather conditions, which in reality was nothing more than a light dusting of snow! I later discovered that there were other factors resulting in the cancellation. When I got to the airport the queue for the check in desks were extremely long and people were looking less than pleased, but again, no one tried to jump the queue or anything like that. Everyone seemed to bond with people they would have totally disregarded under normal circumstances. Just for the record; I am including myself in that!

The flight was eventually reinstated and I got to where I needed to be. After I’d cleared security and got to the gate I saw some of the people I’d been queuing with and who greeted me as a friend they hadn’t seen in a long time and I am sure they’d greeted each other in the same way before I got there.

Do we really need events like this (or worse) in order for us to be more civil to each other and if so; bring on some more snow please.

And finally; for the people who kept referring to a few inches of snow as Heavy Snow and Severe Weather, please see below for some perspective!

6 responses to “Snow Chaos in the UK

  1. viv66 January 17, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    You are quite right. It’s been more than 30 years since we’ve had this sort of heavy snow and the younger generation have never learned how to deal with it and the older have forgotten.
    And yes, it does seem that hardship binds people together better than good times. Why this is so is a mystery to me!

  2. summerrain63 January 18, 2010 at 7:11 am

    Love the pictures….I live in a very snowy part of the US and it is quite commonplace here…

    It does my heart good though knowing how people still reach out and help one another…thank you for sharing….I enjoyed it.

    • J January 18, 2010 at 7:03 pm

      Maybe we should send some people to your part of the world for lessons on how to cope with snow!!!

      People reaching out and helping one another is a very positive side effect.

      Thank you for your words and for dropping by…

  3. Robert G. Longpré January 20, 2010 at 1:30 am

    Great images! I am glad that I have left the snow and ice of home for this tropical paradise of Costa Rica. I want to thank you for coming frequently to visit my pages. Don’t hesitate to comment, either to disagree or agree with some point I have made along the way.

    • J January 21, 2010 at 5:46 pm

      Thanks Robert. I quite like the snow and don’t get to experience it very often. It’s all gone now and we are back to the usual rainy Britain.
      I enjoy visiting your pages and it would be very difficult to keep me away.
      Good to hear you are enjoying Costa Rica and judging by your pictures it really is a tropical paradise…

Leave a Reply

