Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

The early days of me

It started with chocolate….

It then moved on to the harder stuff..

I then found that being close to nature made me more fulfilled

Unfortunately that didn’t pay the bills so I had to join the Rat Race of corporate life..

My brother then told me that I was getting far too stressed and needed some time away from the office, so we went to the beach..

This was a long time ago and sometimes I wish I could go back to remember what my thoughts were then. Looking at the photos of myself made smile but also brought tears to my eyes. I wanted to hug that child (me) and tell him that he is simply lovely! Is this ego feeding or for once an example of loving myself for who I am??

23 responses to “The early days of me

  1. Love January 24, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    He is simply Lovely

  2. mrsme January 24, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    You’re still that child, only bigger.

  3. mysoul January 25, 2010 at 7:29 am

    🙂 He is and always lovely, its only a matter of seeing himself for what he always is.

  4. shiona January 25, 2010 at 7:46 am

    I never had any doubts you were such an angel of a child, but I assure you that you are and will always be an angel to me. And I’m sure to many other people who are lucky enough to have you in their lives.

    • J January 25, 2010 at 6:03 pm

      My dearest Shiona, your words warm my heart. You are an angel to me and always will be. Your friendship is so precious to me..xxx

  5. viv66 January 25, 2010 at 9:08 am

    Awwwwww!!!!!
    So cute.
    It’s funny but these are very like some of the photos of me and my brother at that sort of age. Similar era too.
    There are ways of touching that past and talking to your child self; maybe we can talk about them when you come this weekend.
    Hugs!
    xx

    • J January 25, 2010 at 6:06 pm

      Thank you Viv,
      My parents emailed these (and some others) through yesterday afternoon after sorting through old photos. I’d like very much to talk about ways of touching that past and talking to that child. Roll on Friday
      Love and Hugs
      XXX

  6. vanessaleighsblog January 25, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Hey you!!!

    Sorry that it has been so very long since my last visit.

    You know what I say, right? HUG that child inside, tightly. We all have a child within, and most of those children need to be reassured that they are not forgotten, that they will be well cared for, that there is still room in our busy lives for them.

    So, hug, care for, nurture, and play with that inner child. It works wonders to brighten the soul.

    I love your photos; thank you for sharing them. Is your hair truly still this blonde? Lovely!!!!! HUGS!

    • J January 25, 2010 at 6:10 pm

      Hey Vanessa,

      Please don’t apologise. Drop by as often or as little as you like and know that you are always welcome.
      I’d like to get better at nurturing my inner child and hope that these photos may just serve as a reminder.

      As for the blonde hair.. It does get rather blonde during the summer months but these days there’s grey mixed in too..:-)

      HUGS

  7. Robert G. Longpré January 25, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    My childhood was lived a bit differently. My father was a Puer, my mother was wrapped up in him, and I the eldest child, became a caretaker VERY early. Of course, I was a dark-haired old-soul right from the beginning, a quiet, serious little Senex.

    • J January 26, 2010 at 6:46 pm

      Hi Robert, it does seem that we lived very different childhoods. I was a fairly quiet child and spent a lot of time on my own but never had to take on the role as caretaker..

  8. summerrain63 January 26, 2010 at 9:10 am

    What a lovely little boy….truly…and you should love who you are…how can you not….what a cutie….

    thank you for sharing them…

    • J January 26, 2010 at 7:35 pm

      Thank you summerrain63 – I really appreciate your sweet and wonderful comment. I agree, he was a lovely little boy and he is trying to get back to be a lovely little boy..

  9. tobeme January 27, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Without a doubt this is loving yourself and remembering who your authentic self is. This is love.

    • J January 27, 2010 at 10:32 pm

      Thank you so much Mark it’s so good to see you back here. I have looked at the photos a lot since I posted them and I still feel like hugging that earlier version of me with a heart full of love..

  10. enreal January 28, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    J~ you still can hug that little boy, tell him he’s great and sit with him… these photos are terrific… life simply evolves into what? i still don’t quite understand… this is so full of love. Thank you

  11. J January 29, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Thank you enreal…I am beginning to understand.
    Your words, as always warms my heart..
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

