Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Beginning to Accept

I am beginning to accept that I am different to the people around me.

I am beginning to accept who I am and that I am allowed to have a voice and an opinion.

I am beginning to understand that I do not have to agree to everyone else’s viewpoint.

I am beginning to accept that there will be good days and bad day and days in between.

I am beginning to accept that a state of permanent happiness is a fruitless quest.

I am beginning to accept anxiety for what it is without the need to analyze why it is.

I am beginning to accept the endless questions without the need for immediate answers.

I am beginning to accept that the expectation of permanent happiness leads to disappointment.

I am beginning to understand that my mood is not a permanent thing

I am beginning to understand that I am in perpetual motion. Constantly changing, constantly growing, constantly learning.

I am beginning to accept my shadow side, the part of me I have wanted to hide for so long.

I am beginning to accept that maybe I am just here to experience and learn.

I am beginning to understand that sometimes things just happens for no reason.

I am beginning to understand that I am the one looking for reasons when things happen.

I am beginning to enjoy the things I took for granted. Taking a deep breath and feeling it. Beginning to enjoy walking in the rain and feeling the rain drops on my face, the beauty of a flower or a tree, the sound of a flowing river or the sound of waves crashing on a beach.

I am beginning to enjoy being loving towards myself.

I am beginning to  understand that the end is just a new beginning.

I am beginning to understand that it’s the journey that’s important.

I am beginning….

to accept….

me

Share

25 responses to “Beginning to Accept

  1. viv66 February 7, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    I may print this out and put it on my wall to remind me of such fabulously wise words.
    well done.
    xx

    • J February 9, 2010 at 6:51 am

      Thank you Viv. As I mentioned to you, this came from my journal and your comment confirms that posting it was the right thing for me to do.

      xx

  2. mysoul February 7, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    I agree with Viv above.. I might just make a poster of this. It is truthfully beautiful.

  3. viv66 February 7, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    I have printed it on the special parchment paper I showed you last weekend and now am going to put it on a wall.
    The new Desiderata has arrived!

  4. Robert G. Longpré February 8, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    This is amazing! I fully agree with both Viv and MySoul about the value of this post. Thank you.

  5. vanessaleighsblog February 8, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    OUTSTANDING, my friend. Love, and truth, all wrapped up in this beautiful post. AMAZING! This life is here for all of us, not just a chosen few. Welcome aboard………. HUGS! V.

    • J February 9, 2010 at 7:09 am

      Thank you Vanessa,

      Maybe it’s time for me to realise that “This life is here for all of us” and perhaps this post was a way for me to remember this…

      HUGS

  6. enreal February 9, 2010 at 4:57 am

    I too printed this out!!! Now I can have your beautiful words on my wall… maybe I can begin to accept… Thanks J. You’re a blessing!

  7. J February 9, 2010 at 7:23 am

    Maybe we can both begin to accept….one step at a time.
    Thank you enreal, I feel blessed by your comment

  8. Maddy February 9, 2010 at 7:33 am

    Happened to read this from a friend who linked this post.

    Loads of wisdom here. the last three lines sums it all. Thanks to you for sharing this with us and thanks to my friend too!!

  9. J February 9, 2010 at 7:56 am

    Hi Maddy,

    Thank you for coming by and for taking the time to comment. Thank you also to your friend.
    I hope that you will visit again from time to time..

  10. shiona February 9, 2010 at 9:40 am

    This is indeed something I would like to remind myself at the beginning of each new day.
    Thank you for sharing it with us and good luck on your journey.
    Big hugs

  11. summerrain63 February 9, 2010 at 9:42 am

    This is wonderful…truly…

  12. tobeme February 10, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    This is what our journey is all about! Thanks for sharing your wisdom.

  13. some people just hide in plain sight February 11, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    I wrote this in my journal to meditate on. Thank you for your very inspiring post.

  14. J February 11, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    You are very welcome. I hope that it will help

  15. Pingback: I’m Beginning to Accept Me « Some People Just Hide in Plain Sight

  16. Nancy November 22, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Beautiful – Thank you for sharing your journey!

Leave a Reply

