Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Alone with my Shadow

There is nowhere left to run to and still I keep running

But from what?

My own shadow

It follows me wherever I go

I cannot get away from it, but in truth I am afraid of facing it

This is a journey I must take alone, that I know, but the fear is present

I cannot close the door I once opened

I cannot go back

There is nowhere left to hide, no one else to turn to

And until I find the courage

I am alone with my shadow


17 responses to “Alone with my Shadow

  1. wanderingypsies February 13, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    Hi Jesper, I am here via a different username. This latest post is powerful and speaks loudly to me. I have written you directly, I hope that you get the e-mail. Please know that I am here and listening.

    Retired Eagle

  2. mysoul February 14, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Wow, this speaks for me too. Wonderful J, the words go well with the picture of hidden shadows.

  3. enreal February 14, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Being alone
    HIding from shadows
    The shadows have many faces
    The faces have many needs
    Forever we run…
    away in circles,
    yet towards blinded by sight…

    Remember one thing J… the courage you so seek… it is there, standing between you and your shadow… for your shadow has taken the journey with you. Sometimes dark, sometimes light, sometimes happy, and sometimes painful. The darker the times… the further your shadow was… yet it was always attached… remember to think on the nature of shadow… I am sure it had no desired to be feared and loathed… it is us, truly when we unmask it.

    J~ as always, a pleasure

    • J February 16, 2010 at 10:12 pm

      Thank you enreal for your invaluable words..

      I have come to realise that, yes the shadow was always attached and perhaps the more I tried to hide it the more it wanted to be acknowledged and not feared and loathed

  4. saffy February 14, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    me thinks a lot of people could relate to this piece ~smiles~

    • J February 16, 2010 at 10:01 pm

      Thank you Saffy,

      I am very grateful for you coming by and taking the time to express your thoughts and if people can relate to it, then posting it was the right choice..

  5. shiona February 15, 2010 at 9:31 am

    We have an old superstition in my country on which folk tales and folk song are based. According to that belief of many years ago if the shadow of a beautiful young woman was built into a new house, the building was strong and lasting but the woman slowly faded away. It appears my ancestors believed that one’s shadow was a vulnerable but inseparable part of us and if we lost it in some mysterious way, we also lost a considerable part of our vitality.
    So maybe once again the clue is to just change your perspective, love your shadow and embrace it?

    • J February 16, 2010 at 10:16 pm

      I like the belief of your ancestors. It speaks to me. I may not understand it fully at this point but it has given me food for thought and in time maybe I will be able to gradually learn to accept it and even love and embrace it..

      Thank you Shiona ♥

  6. vanessaleighsblog February 15, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    I agree with shiona!

    You and your shadow, I am thinking, represents that you are indeed, with yourself, but your shadow is wanting to be with you, and to help bring you back to your “self” possibly, to explore who it is you truly are.

    Shadow is your friend, and I believe that we must embrace all of the aspects of our selves in order to truly be contented and peaceful in the company of others…….

    This is a journey; I think you are indeed, embracing it!!!!! Hugs! V.

    • J February 16, 2010 at 10:29 pm

      Thank you Vanessa,

      I am embracing the journey ahead with a degree of hesitancy because of the uncertainty involved. That said I suppose one could look at is as an adventure and I know that my lesson is to understand and accept all aspects of who I am, however long that may take

      Hugs

  7. Dev February 17, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Wow J….
    Even I think you have voiced my thoughts here.
    And, even I have some similar thoughts. You can read them at http://lumuhuku.wordpress.com/2007/09/15/my-shadow-is-the-only-one-that-walks-besides-me/

    • J February 18, 2010 at 5:17 pm

      Thanks Dev,

      Good to see you back here..
      Thank you for the link, I have been over to have a read but will be back to read it again..

  8. viv66 February 17, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    I’m sorry I wasn’t here to read this post.
    I’ll speak soon.
    xxx

  9. summerrain63 February 23, 2010 at 8:55 am

    this is a wonderful piece….our shadow is really just an extension of ourself….I just think of how at night my daughter sees shadows on the wall that scare her…and they are things in her room she sees every day…and when I point that out to her…somehow the fear fades…maybe we all know our shadow…its there w/ us always…

Leave a Reply

