Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Doodling

I am a doodler, there is no denying it. I have no idea why I do it and what comes out, but there is just something rather satisfying about it. I have done it for as long as I can remember. At work I do it when I am on the phone or in a meeting.

Lately, however, I have found it to be a way of slowing down the chatter in my mind to the extent that, at times, I feel total peace and quiet.

The picture above is an example of around 30 minutes of peace while I was simply doodling..

Perhaps it is a form of meditation or perhaps it is one of those things that just grabs my focus to the extent that other thoughts take a backseat for a while…

15 responses to “Doodling

  1. shiona March 28, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    What an exquisite pattern!

    I am a doodler too. I usually draw flowers or geometrical forms.Sometimes workmates make jokes about it saying I don’t seem to have much to do. But I can’t help it, especially when speaking on the phone at work. Some callers can be so verbose that if it wasn’t for doodling to soothe my nerves, I’d go mad and scream at them.:-)

    They say, like handwriting, doodling is indicative of certain characteristic features. No doubt they are also an expression of one’s internal condition.

  2. vanessaleighsblog March 28, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    This is the artist in you emerging, me thinks. Beyond writing, doodling is another way to “safely” allow that outlet to emerge. Did you ever want to be an artist in your life, simply creating to feed your soul, with little regard for how lucrative it could be?

    Maybe if so, that is part of where you future dreams lie.

    You are a fantastic doodler; full of beauty and mystery is what I see…..

    • J April 2, 2010 at 11:02 am

      A friend of mine is doing a course in counselling and she asked me to help by answering a series of questions as part of her coursework. One of the questions was: “What would you have liked to achieve with your education?”
      My answer is: “My education was never really my choice, it was more a case of being influenced in a particular direction by my parents and teachers.
      If I had the choice to go back I would have chosen an education in art, specifically music and writing or graphic design.”

      I obviously can’t go back and start again, but i can try to make a start from where I am.

  3. Mysoul March 28, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Simply beautiful :). I know what you mean when you say “it is a form of meditation”.

    I tend to be “in the zone” when I do certain things or am at certain places. It is a point of Bliss for me, when there is that experience of Just being.

    You could use these as Tattoo Designs. This has a lot of Yin in it, soothing.

  4. enreal March 30, 2010 at 5:05 am

    wow J, this is very cool… you’re lucky to have this outlet… the picture is definitely calming, I wonder what it means to your subconscious… i wonder…

  5. saffy March 30, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    It would appear you’ve turned it into an art form…~smiles~

Leave a Reply

