Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Observing and being Present

I often get caught up in my desire and dreams for a different life and reality that I miss some of the little things that happen in my present reality.

I can be very impatient at times and despite numerous reminders I still find myself getting into the “Instant Gratification” mindset of getting to the end result with no regard to the journey there. I know it is the journey that is important and as much as I try to remember and live by this, I fear there are times I forget.

The desire for a different life is stronger than ever which often causes the impatience in the first place. However, I am beginning to get a clearer picture of what my preferred reality may look like as well as what the journey may entail. I know the journey will continue to change and so will my perceived end result. I also know that along the way I will be side tracked and thrown off course, which, i realise is happening right now as this was not really what I set out to write, so let me park the dream for a moment.

As I was walking to work this morning, thoughts were flying around in my head, as is the normal occurrence, but instead of categorising or labeling them as good or bad i decided to simply observe my thoughts as nothing more than just thoughts. See, normally one thought will lead to another and before long I have this whole movie playing around in my mind and more often than not it is not exactly an uplifting type of movie. It did take some effort to just observe without judging or labeling but it was worth it.

I also decided that instead of getting myself worked up or frustrated by the normal dramas at work I’d try my best to accept each situation for what it may be while remaining calm and peaceful within.

As I logged on to my computer at work (usually the first stress of the day based on the number of emails I am usually greeted with) the first email of only three was from a friend (Thanks Viv) and it read:

Easiness:

I am always light and take on no burdens.

I don’t take insults or aggressive behaviour personally.

I know who I am and I stay peaceful and calm

This somehow convinced me that it would turn out to be a good day.

Two other events today made me smile inside and out;

The first one was my first client meeting of the day. It started out pretty normal but we then got side tracked into conversations about writing, blogging, web design, publishing and reading and despite her being a little pushed for time due to work commitments, for a moment we lost track of what she was here to talk about. When reality crept back in we both agreed that talking about financial stuff was a lot less interesting than the other topics we’d covered.

Around lunch time I was told of someone who had come to the office. Someone who had been experiencing some rather serious financial difficulties. However, this was not the reason for his visit (I never saw him) but it transpired that he had just inherited a rather large sum of money which meant that all his financial troubles had disappeared in a flash. This really made me smile, despite the fact that I have no idea who this guy is, but I loved the fact that the universe (or whatever label you prefer) smiled on someone who really needed the help.

It is events like these that I often miss in my normal quest for a better life but I am grateful that I was open to them today.

9 responses to “Observing and being Present

  1. Viv June 10, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Stay open.
    It can be astounding what happens when you are on the lookout.
    I must lend you a book called When oracles Speak….if I can bear to part with it, that is.

  2. Brynn Thomas June 11, 2010 at 11:11 am

    Right on the button J. Have you ever stopped your train of thought and tried to figure out how you got to where it is? What started thet particular thread? I do it sometimes and am oustounded at how the mind just links together all of our past dramas.
    Love reading positive stories, and this was a goodie.
    Have a great weekend…

    • J June 11, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      Yeah I have done that on a few occasions like this particular day. most of the time it happens so fast that I don’t notice until the movie is well on the way.

      Have a great weekend too.

      I suspect your part of the world has become rather busy with the World Cup!!

  3. Viv June 11, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    I just noticed the change of name as we were laughing about it the other night…
    just don’t start wearing a raspberry beret…

  4. theprophecyoftheshalforen June 19, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    It is cool you have books you would read again and again, tell you what, if you like have a look at my new novel, see if it has a shot in getting into your selection ^^

    http://theprophecyoftheshalforen.wordpress.com/

    cheers!!!

    • J June 30, 2010 at 5:38 pm

      Hi there and thanks for dropping by.

      I have a very long reading list but if you feel like sending me a copy of your book I’ll gladly add it to my list and who knows….one day it may just have a shot…;-)

Leave a Reply

