Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Bring Back the Cigar Chompers!

I know the title of this post may be a little odd but stay with me (well..only if you want to!). The video clip below will help explain the title as well as the point of this post…

Whilst the above clip is specifically geared around the music industry, in my view it applies to most, if not all, of the art forms.

I have been involved with the publishing of a novel that I strongly believe needed and fully deserved to be in the public domain. A novel that up until January 2010 had remained a file on a computer because no one was willing to take a chance on it and let the public decide whether or not it was worth publishing. I have no experience in publishing but how I felt after I had read the book fuelled my motivation to be a part of its publication and let it find its own place in this world.

It seems to me that we live in a culture where appealing to the mass market is far more important than the quality of what is released, the result of which paints a very beige and boring picture to me. I value individuality and passion even if I disagree with the product or end result. It is not up to me to decide whether or not you like it, nor is it up to anyone else to make that decision!

I agree with Frank; Bring back the cigar chompers and let’s take a chance on talent, quality and individuality regardless of sales potential or mass market appeal!

Who knows what might happen!

10 responses to “Bring Back the Cigar Chompers!

  1. shiona June 27, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    I totally agree with you. I have absolutely no experience in the publishing business, but judging by what is regularly released on the market, art seems to have turned into a money-making industry nowadays.

  2. Viv June 27, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    I must take up chomping cigars.. it seems they had more humility that later folks.
    Art of all kinds is a profound mystery; trying to reduce it to a formula is going to take away the soul.
    thanks for this and for everything.
    xx

    • J June 30, 2010 at 5:45 pm

      You are very welcome but please don’t take up Cigar Chomping – it wouldn’t suit you and I am pretty sure a certain N may have a word or two to say on the topic too!
      xxx

  3. Barb June 29, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Mmm… here you have an author who has used Lulu for the graphic novels but isn’t sure how to proceed with the novels yet… Hate all that “marketing” part of the author’s life! 😦
    BTW you’re on the second part of the Author interview, on my blog tomorrow…
    Thanks for your support to the Author! 🙂

    • J June 30, 2010 at 5:54 pm

      The “marketing” part of the author’s life is unfortunately a necessity, unless of course you are lucky enough to have a budget to get someone else to do it for you.

      I have been over to read both parts http://creativebarbwire.wordpress.com/2010/06/30/interview-with-vivienne-tuffnell-part2/ and you have done a really lovely job with the interview. The support is very much appreciated. Thank you

      • Barb July 1, 2010 at 6:22 am

        I think writers should help and support each other… but sometimes I feel I’m the only one doing it (definitely when I was a ziner, I was the only one who bought everybody’s zine while nobody touched mine… :-()

        • J July 4, 2010 at 9:43 am

          Keep at it Barb and who knows, one day you will receive the support you are seeking.
          In helping and supporting others, you may just be helping and supporting yourself too…

        • Viv July 4, 2010 at 10:12 am

          I have a feeling that in a lot of cases, writers don’t regard each other as friends but as competition.
          Sad but true.
          I guess working and supporting people who write in different genres might actually work better.
          Your ‘zine was probably so much better than theirs anyway; it threatened them.
          I agree with J; you help yourself when you help others.
          Don’t give up!
          xx

  4. Pingback: How to write the perfect CV (or perhaps not) « Journey of Life

Leave a Reply

