Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

How to write the perfect CV (or perhaps not)

As I am soon to be joining the unemployment line, there have been things to sort out, one of which is an up to date version of my CV. I have always been pretty good at keeping it up to date and it has so far served me very well in terms of getting me shortlisted for interviews. However, it seems that in the current economic climate it may need some tweaking.

My mind then sent me on a trip down memory lane to a time when I was asked to help looking through a number of CV’s for a position my employer at the time wanted to fill. I have zero recruitment or HR experience, which from a recruitment point of view isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but that aside, as I was going through the pile of CV’s I landed upon one that caused me to shower my computer with a mouthful of coffee in a fit of laughter. The CV itself would have made most people throw it straight in the bin and yet, I wanted to shortlist the guy for an interview purely to see who had written it and to find out more.

My memory of the CV is as follows:

 

Dear Manager

I am an individual of extremely hardworking capabilities and countless experience.  (Or words to that effect)

Employment history:

2000 – 2001:  Employed

2001 – 2002: Self Employed

Education:

Some

Available for interviews at any time – please call.

Yours sincerely

Name

As I mentioned, I really wanted to get this guy in for an interview because a) it made me laugh, b) because I am pretty confident he wasn’t bullshitting and c) it made me curious..

He may have been a complete waste of time, but on the other hand who knows?

Unfortunately, I didn’t win that argument and I will never know what this guy was all about. He obviously didn’t spend a lot of time on his CV but to me, the curiosity it ignited in me justified (at least in my mind) spending at least a few minutes learning more about this simplistic way of CV writing.

3 responses to “How to write the perfect CV (or perhaps not)

  1. Shiona November 28, 2010 at 7:22 am

    It is funny indeed, but the first thing that struck me when I read this was that the guy was absolutely sick and tired of applying for jobs. It reminded me of my childhood friend who has two university degrees and has been out of work for more than two years now.
    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you, J.

  2. Viv November 28, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I hate writing my CV because it actually looks like two utterly different Cvs put together using one of those weird Wordify programmes that mash them up.
    I also feel that the last 20+ years of dumbing down the education system in the Uk means that a degree means considerably less than when I sat mine; which is fine for those who realise that, but not so fine when those doing to choosing are of that generation that seeks youth over experience, and doesn’t understand that a degree take then probably had to be fought harder for even to get into a university.
    Rant over.
    I have created a Hand of Glory with crossed fingers because I found keeping my fingers crossed constantly was making it hard to write.
    It will work out.

  3. CV Writing December 1, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    If you are going for another job then put your employment history first. If you have just left education and have no work experience focus on your education and training

Leave a Reply

