Journey of Life

the place formerly known as control your destiny

Snow travel

As much of Europe seems faced with disruption due to adverse weather condition, I am beginning to realise just how lucky I am to have escaped all of this.

I left the UK for Denmark Friday afternoon and following a few delays, I arrived here safe and sound Friday evening.

Saturday morning I received a phone-call from a friend in Oxford who rang to tell me that he’d woken up to a good 30cm of snow Saturday morning resulting in chaos, at least from a travelling perspective.

Had I decided to travel Saturday instead of Friday I am pretty sure I would have joined the thousands of people who have been stranded at Heathrow, (and various other airports around Europe) unsure of whether or not I would make it back for Christmas. I also know how frustrating and hopeless they may feel at the moment as I would not have dealt with this uncertainty too well as evidenced by my journey back last year.

I am extremely grateful for having made it here and for the ability to write this in cosy surroundings and to the sound of a crackling fire. At the same time, however, I am not forgetting how easily I could have been stuck at Heathrow airport at this precise moment.

The above picture is taken just outside the cottage in which I am staying and I lit it again this morning in the hope that everyone stranded will make it home in time for Christmas.

8 responses to “Snow travel

  1. Lene Andersen December 20, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Tænkte på dig, og håbede på at du nåede frem inden kaos. Og heldigvis gjorde du det:)

    • J December 20, 2010 at 6:06 pm

      Tak Lene, ja heldigvis kom jeg frem i god behold og jeg kan reporterer at der er ild i pejsen og vin i glasset. Håber at i får en rigtig dejlig jul 🙂

  2. Viv December 20, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    It’s good to know you are there safely.
    Enjoy!

  3. Hans Kortlevers December 20, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    You have to travel sometime to Holland. You can’t even find your car in the snow!

  4. Shiona December 22, 2010 at 8:36 am

    I’m so glad you did not have to go through trouble. Have a wonderful time in Denmark and happy winter holidays!!!
    The picture is lovely. 🙂
    XXX

Leave a Reply

